Popular Tags: Video [+] [View All]
James Mangum
United States
Pleasant Grove
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a teacher of ninth-grade students in a religion class. As part of our curriculum, we encourage the students to memorize passages of scripture. This is a goal that carries very little intrinsic motivation, so I have been looking at gamification.

However, I do not want to fall into the badges and levels. Instead, I would like to follow ideas like that of Scott Nicholson. However, I do not think I have found the right keywords to find more research like his. Does anyone have any suggestions on where to find some great articles on meaningful gamification in the classroom?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. H. Horatio
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
The Future is a Game
mbmbmbmbmb
bromangum wrote:
I am a teacher of ninth-grade students in a religion class. As part of our curriculum, we encourage the students to memorize passages of scripture. This is a goal that carries very little intrinsic motivation, so I have been looking at gamification.

However, I do not want to fall into the badges and levels. Instead, I would like to follow ideas like that of Scott Nicholson. However, I do not think I have found the right keywords to find more research like his. Does anyone have any suggestions on where to find some great articles on meaningful gamification in the classroom?

"A soldier will fight long and hard for a bit of colored ribbon."
- Napoleon Bonaparte
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bret Clifton
United States
Newman Lake
Washington
flag msg tools
Stave it off, 1 2 3, now you can count to three!
badge
Do I know what rhetorical means?
mbmbmbmbmb