Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Road to Canterbury» Forums » Rules

Subject: 1 Cube on Pilgrim - How to Count Influence on Company? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Schema Man
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Played for the first time tonight and we all enjoyed it. Felt a little guilty tempting pilgrims and then killing them off, but got over it pretty quickly. . Anyhow, we had a question: If two players each have a single cube on a pilgrim when he dies, how do you account for the road bonus and measure influence on the company? I ask because it seems detrimental to kill the pilgrim since the road bonus is small relative to the potential bonus for having the most cubes on a company at the end of a game.

The rules say, "The player with the most Corruption Cubes on the newly deceased Pilgrim card has dominant influence and moves one of these cubes to the left-most open stage on the road to Canterbury (note that the player MOVES a cube already in play on the Pilgrim—he does not ADD one from his supply)". However, moving the existing cube to the road seems to penalize the player when it comes to calculating the bonus for influencing a company because moving the single cube to the road leaves zero cubes on the pilgrim. This matters because, "...Move the Pilgrim card to the first available space next to this Company, leaving all players’ remaining Corruption Cubes in place on the card. (Turn it face down.) ... At the end of the game a bonus is awarded to the player with the most cubes in each Company of Pilgrims, counting those both on living and deceased Pilgrims."

So, the player with the most influence gets 2, 4, 6, 8 or 10 point road bonus and that's great. However, the player is left with zero cubes on the dead pilgrim if he can't add a cube to the road or the card. If he could have left the cube or added one from supply to the Pilgrim, it could have contributed to the 15 point bonus for having the most cubes on a company, which is much higher than a road bonus.

So.... what do you do in the case where two players each have one cube on the pilgrim when he perishes relative to the road bonus and the bonus for influencing a company?

NOTE: Edit is to clean up formatting
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The root of all evil... but you can call me cookie.
United States
Gainesville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
You are correct. In this case both cubes will move to the road bonus spot scoring fewer points. Make sure you get more than a single cube on a pilgrim before he ides off. It's really quite a nasty (fun) little game.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Schema Man
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick response Thoia. What you suggested makes sense, except for the fact that we'd resolved the tie according to this rule, "If players tie for corruption, then the player with more Sin cards in hand is considered dominant (determine the total by examining the backs of each card in hand). If players tie yet again for the number of Sin cards, then all tied players add one cube to this station on the road and each receives the full bonus marked for it."

So one person had more sin cards, his cube went to the road for +2 bonus. However, that left zero cards on the pilgrim. So when we did final scoring, the second player had one cube on this company and got 15 points, and the first player got nothing but the +2 road bonus even though he was the one who killed the pilgrim in the first place. In other words, the guy who did the deed came out -13 points and that didn't make sense to us.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alf Seegert
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
schemaman wrote:
Thanks for the quick response Thoia. What you suggested makes sense, except for the fact that we'd resolved the tie according to this rule, "If players tie for corruption, then the player with more Sin cards in hand is considered dominant (determine the total by examining the backs of each card in hand). If players tie yet again for the number of Sin cards, then all tied players add one cube to this station on the road and each receives the full bonus marked for it."

So one person had more sin cards, his cube went to the road for +2 bonus. However, that left zero cards on the pilgrim. So when we did final scoring, the second player had one cube on this company and got 15 points, and the first player got nothing but the +2 road bonus even though he was the one who killed the pilgrim in the first place. In other words, the guy who did the deed came out -13 points and that didn't make sense to us.


Hi Schema Man and Thoia,
Yes to breaking ties counting Sin cards in hand. And yes: one of the risks of having most influence on a Pilgrim is that one of your cubes moves to the Road. It's important to remember that on the Road you score a bonus for the current Town AND you're in the running for the Road bonus, which is substantial (20/10/5). So it's a very risky strategy to win a Pilgrim with only one cube, since that means you won't have any left on the Pilgrim afterwards... Something to plan for in future games!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Schema Man
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you both for helping. This game gave us more than a few chuckles and I started to worry for myself when I was concerned the pilgrims weren't sinning fast enough to achieve my goals. If the intent of the game was to immerse us in the mind of the pardoner then I say mission accomplished. devil

Thanks again!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.