Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Drew Bowling
United States
Waterford
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I am an incredibly amateur Board Game Designer, but I have been working on this one idea for a while (it's almost presentable, and I'll be able to post a version soon, if everything goes according to plan). The main problem is that there are too many moving pieces to manage. This becomes so overwhelming that this in and of itself makes the game less fun to play. (Brief run down: you are growing around 35 plants with their own individual tokens and you need to water them with water tokens. At the end of the year, you need to remove the water tokens. This gets annoying when having to remove about 15-20 tokens without accidentally knocking around the flower tokens. End explanation.) I've already started counting resources on a track instead of with individual pieces, and I'm afraid if I abstract away the whole farming element into tracks, the game will be too abstract and lost any theme it has. Do I need to just grin and bear the fiddly, or do I lose theme to make it less of a hassle? Or is there a third alternative I haven't thought of yet?

Edit: Here is my post for the game: Wizard Farmers

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew N
United States
Rochester
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Reduce the number of plants. More is not always better, and if you reduce the number of plants, and the amount of resources available to grow them, it will make a tighter game.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sturv Tafvherd
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Miller4h9 wrote: