Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Mice and Mystics» Forums » Rules

Subject: Chapter 4 Captain Vurst question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Forster
United States
Pleasant Prairie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
"When playing a game, the goal is to win, but it is the goal that is important, not the winning" - Dr. Reiner Knizia
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We just finished playing Ch. 4 and we came up with a few questions. After looking at the FAQ and the other discussion threads, all our questions are answered . . . except one.

In the Forge, we had a surge happen, so Captain Vurst would normally come out. But we had all six rat figures already on the board, so Vurst did not come out. It is hypothetically possible that we intentionally focused on killing the centipede because we knew that if the surge happened with six rats still out, we wouldn't have to face Vurst. But we will never admit it!

Here's our question. It took us so long to clear the tile that we had a second surge. By this time we no longer had all six rat figures out. Should Vurst have come out?

We played it "no." But the process for surges in the FAQ document is unclear on this point. If we follow the FAQ document strictly, it would appear to make special surges happen on all surges. But that wouldn't make sense as it would cause the special surges to happen over and over.

Any guidance on this would be appreciated!

(This post co-written by Anya Forster, age 8, Greg's daughter.)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Hawthorne
United States
dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The second surge would just move the hourglass only. You guys avoided Vurst this time.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Forster
United States
Pleasant Prairie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
"When playing a game, the goal is to win, but it is the goal that is important, not the winning" - Dr. Reiner Knizia
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you - we love your game!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.