Wexford
Wexford
flag msg tools
designer
ASL Fanatic
badge
Royal Dublin Fusiliers "Spectamur Agendo"
mbmbmbmbmb
I consider myself a newcomer to the world of ASL, as I've been playing in earnest for just 5 years. I'm conscious that there's a back catalogue of classic ASL scenarios which I've never played. Part of the attraction of ASL is the value of separate but shared experiences - we all have our stories to tell about Bread Factory No. 2 or the Capture of Balta.

So, since commiting to ASL I've made an effort to balance my play between new scenarios and older classics. So far, I've played 15 of Beyond Valor's 24 scenario offerings. The Agony of Doom has been on my playlist for a long time, not least because it features two of my favourite boards; boards 3 and 5.

We chose to play sans balance, despite the ROAR record which seems to indicate imperfect balance - we were playing for fun.

In Agony of Doom a mixed force of Soviet heavy and medium armour, two IS2s, an ISU 152 and two T-34/85s, with plenty of truck and leg borne infantry, try to cease the Board 3 village from a brittle German infantry force supported by a 75mm anti-tank gun and reinforced by two Jgpz Vs. It's April 1945, so the German ELR is low and the Soviet infantry is a healthy mix of first line and elite troops.

I attacked with the Soviets in fairly direct fashion - it's Ost Front after all and even if Stavka are all about misdirection and cunning ruses I'm old fashioned and I thought of my attack as an unspoken homage to the tankers of 1941, charging forward in their KVs and T-35s to add a few more kill rings to the barrels of the Pz IIIs and IVs.

Back to 1945. I managed to kill a hulldown Tiger I in exchange for an IS2. No mean accomplishment, although I've often thought that ASL's depiction of the Tiger I flatters to deceive. It can be a very vulnerable unit.