Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Unconditional Surrender! World War 2 in Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Supply clarification... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bill Powers
United States
Triangle
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe we did this correctly, but want to confirm.

In the Supply Check Sub-Phase, an Italian army cannot trace a supply line. Thus activating this rule:
If a unit cannot trace a supply line; has its supply line trace successfully
interdicted; or its faction chose not to supply it, that unit’s
Supply State is reduced as follows.
• If it has no Low Supply or No Supply marker on it, put a Low
Supply marker on it.
• If it has a Low Supply marker on it, flip it to its No Supply side.
• If it has a No Supply marker on it, leave the marker on it.

There was no marker on the unit, so it receives a Low Supply marker.

In the following No Supply Phase it says:
7.5.1 Unsupplied Attrition
If a phasing unit has No Supply, do the following.
• If it is a reduced strength ground unit, remove it from its location
and put it in its Faction Card’s Eliminated box.
• If it is a full strength ground unit, reduce it.
• If it is an air or naval unit, remove its Sorties and put the unit
in its Faction Card’s Eliminated box

I have emphasized a phrase. Should this say 'If a phasing unit has No Supply MARKER'? The unit has No Supply, but not a No Supply marker. Is it reduced? We did not think so, but wanted to clarify.

If I understand it correctly, on the next turn, if supply has not been restored, the Low Supply marker will flip to No Supply, and in that next No Supply phase, the unit will be reduced.

Is this correct?

Thanks and great game Sal!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C M
Germany
flag msg tools
Move along, move along...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As per rules section 7.1: "A unit is supplied if it has a Full or Low Supply State. A unit is unsupplied if it has a No Supply State". So a unit with a Low Supply maker is still regarded as supplied. So your interpretation is correct.

Edited for clarity.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Dey
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Your understanding of things is correct. A unit with a Low Supply marker is actually supplied, as far as the phrasing of the rules go.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.