aurax golden chubby dragon
msg tools
Hi, just to be sure I am playing this right, are the following scenarios correctly played?

-Lini reveals an animal ally to get +1d4 for her check, then she discards that same animal to use a D10 for her strength check instead of the normal D4
-Merisiel reveals a crossbow to get the “for your combat roll…” effect, then she recharges the crossbow to get an extra d6 to that combat roll (using the sneak attack; she is alone at her location etc)
-Amiri reveals a great sword to get the “for your combat roll” effect, then she buries that weapon to get an extra D10 to her melee roll

Basically: can you reveal a card to either get an effect and then discard the same card to get another effect, as far as you do not use the same “source of the effect” more than once and you always apply the “reveal” effect first?

Thanks a lot for the help!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Enden
United States
Kalamazoo
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aurax wrote:
Hi, just to be sure I am playing this right, are the following scenarios correctly played?

-Lini reveals an animal ally to get +1d4 for her check, then she discards that same animal to use a D10 for her strength check instead of the normal D4
-Merisiel reveals a crossbow to get the “for your combat roll…” effect, then she recharges the crossbow to get an extra d6 to that combat roll (using the sneak attack; she is alone at her location etc)
-Amiri reveals a great sword to get the “for your combat roll” effect, then she buries that weapon to get an extra D10 to her melee roll

Basically: can you reveal a card to either get an effect and then discard the same card to get another effect, as far as you do not use the same “source of the effect” more than once and you always apply the “reveal” effect first?

Thanks a lot for the help!


These are all good.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. And here is why:

Rulebook v3 p9 wrote:
Playing Cards...Playing a card means activating that card’s power by revealing, displaying, discarding, recharging, burying, or banishing that card. Doing something with a card that does not activate that card’s power does not count as playing that card.


When Lini reveals an animal ally for her d4 power, or discards a card to roll d10 for strength or dexterity, she isn't playing that card she reveals or discards, she is using her power. Same thing for Merisiel and Amiri. So they haven't used their "1 card of each type per check" by using their power because they aren't playing that ally or weapon.

And Lini's d10 power is a power played during "Play cards and use powers that affect the check." And all the things you can play in there you can decide the order in which you want to play them. So reveal the card first so you still have it to recharge/discard/bury for your character's power.

Hypothetically, if there was an animal ally that said "Reveal this card to add 1d6 to a check." Lini could could reveal it for the 1d6, reveal it for her power's 1d4, then discard it to roll a d10 for her Strength or Dexterity. So she used it for 3 different purposes, but she only played the actual card once.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
aurax golden chubby dragon
msg tools
Thanks a lot both of you!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Feldmann SoFrankly
United States
Dayton
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
269Hawkmoon wrote:

Hypothetically, if there was an animal ally that said "Reveal this card to add 1d6 to a check." Lini could could reveal it for the 1d6, reveal it for her power's 1d4, then discard it to roll a d10 for her Strength or Dexterity. So she used it for 3 different purposes, but she only played the actual card once.


Wait. If you reveal to add to a check, isn't playing the card, according to the rulebook citation below? After all, the wording is specific to the card, not the character. If so, then discarding it is playing it twice according to the rulebook, which cites both revealing and discarding.

Rulebook v3 p9 wrote:
Playing Cards...Playing a card means activating that card’s power by revealing, displaying, discarding, recharging, burying, or banishing that card. Doing something with a card that does not activate that card’s power does not count as playing that card.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lini's power isn't playing the card, because she doesn't activate any of the powers on the animal ally she reveals. That is the point of that quote from the rulebook. Even though she is revealing the card for her d4 and discarding it for a d10, neither of those activate the power on the card she revealed or discarded, so they don't count as playing that card.

269Hawkmoon wrote:
Hypothetically, if there was an animal ally that said "Reveal this card to add 1d6 to a check." Lini could could reveal it for the 1d6
That counts as playing the card because she is activating the power on the Hypothetical Animal Ally's card to add 1d6 to a check. Lini has now played 1 ally on this check.

269Hawkmoon wrote:
Reveal it for her power's 1d4.
That doesn't count as paying the card since the card's power says nothing about adding a d4 to a check. It counts as using Lini's power. Lini has still only played 1 ally on this check. She's used an ally to do two things, but only one of those counted as playing the ally.

269Hawkmoon wrote:
Then discard it to roll a d10 for her Strength or Dexterity.
That doesn't count as playing the card, since the card's powers say nothing about rolling a d10. It counts as using Lini's other power. Lini has still only played 1 ally on this check. She's now used it for three things, but only one has counted as playing the ally.
4 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Feldmann SoFrankly
United States
Dayton
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Got it - that makes sense. Thanks for explaining it step by step!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are welcome. Lini is maybe the most complex set of powers in the game. The order in which you do things really matters (i.e. do all revealing before any discarding or recharging).

She is also probably the biggest beneficiary from the fact that "Play cards and use powers that affect the check" is a separate step from "Assemble the dice" or even from the fact that "Assemble the dice" is even an explicit step at all. Since all the powers are played before you actually pick up the dice (at least technically, I tend to actually set them out as I play the cards so I can see what I'm getting), by the time she assembles her dice her d10 power has changed the die to a d10 which means the die she picks up for a blessing is also a d10 instead of the d4 or d6 it would have been otherwise. But since she only changed the die and not the skill, she also still gets any skill feats associated with her strength or dexterity (which ever one she is using).

She is a complicated, powerful character.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Enden
United States
Kalamazoo
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
269Hawkmoon wrote:
Hypothetically, if there was an animal ally that said "Reveal this card to add 1d6 to a check." Lini could could reveal it for the 1d6, reveal it for her power's 1d4, then discard it to roll a d10 for her Strength or Dexterity. So she used it for 3 different purposes, but she only played the actual card once.


I like this hypothetical animal ally. Let's call it the Moon Hawk!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
aurax golden chubby dragon
msg tools
brayle wrote:
269Hawkmoon wrote:
Hypothetically, if there was an animal ally that said "Reveal this card to add 1d6 to a check." Lini could could reveal it for the 1d6, reveal it for her power's 1d4, then discard it to roll a d10 for her Strength or Dexterity. So she used it for 3 different purposes, but she only played the actual card once.


I like this hypothetical animal ally. Let's call it the Moon Hawk!


I second this! Thumbs up! Hawkmoon should appear as an ally in S&S, with a power that reads something like "add +10 to an intelligence check"
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Feldmann SoFrankly
United States
Dayton
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Or maybe the arcane check!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.