Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Harbour» Forums » Rules

Subject: First Play question - Buildings available to use? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shawn Charney
United States
Saint Louis
MO
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What buildings are available for our worker to be played upon? Just the starting buildings on our player boards or Is the common pool of buildings (that we will eventually be buying from) also available...and finally all of the buildings in each players tableau. I couldn't find this clearly in the PoD rules. Initially, I thought it was just the starter buildings or whatever we'd already bought, but as I was re-reading the section about "Paying to use Someone elses building" it references using a building in the middle of the table...when it occured to me that you should buy from the middle even before they are purchased.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garry Rice
United States
Perkasie
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Every building - those on your boards and those in the pool...and remember to replace every building that gets bought from the pool. Otherwise the game would go on FAR too long.

Just remember if you use someone else's building you have to pay them a good of your choice unless you own a building with a top hat.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Sterling
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All the buildings are available to use. We did play that you couldn't use the "starter" building of another player.
If you use a building owned by another player, you must give them one resource of your choosing.
The common buildings are free to use as well as buildings you own.
Remember that unless an ability allows you to, you can not use a building with someone else on it.
Have fun!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Almes
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mattimao wrote:
All the buildings are available to use. We did play that you couldn't use the "starter" building of another player.
If you use a building owned by another player, you must give them one resource of your choosing.
The common buildings are free to use as well as buildings you own.
Remember that unless an ability allows you to, you can not use a building with someone else on it.
Have fun!


You are able to use the starter buildings of other players, but you will have to pay a good for the privledge.

And, I'll vouch for the notes above: you can use anything in the common pool, as well as other players' buildings (but you must pay to use them).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Sterling
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification! Time for round #2!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Charney
United States
Saint Louis
MO
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
scottbalmes wrote:
Mattimao wrote:
All the buildings are available to use. We did play that you couldn't use the "starter" building of another player.
If you use a building owned by another player, you must give them one resource of your choosing.
The common buildings are free to use as well as buildings you own.
Remember that unless an ability allows you to, you can not use a building with someone else on it.
Have fun!


You are able to use the starter buildings of other players, but you will have to pay a good for the privledge.

And, I'll vouch for the notes above: you can use anything in the common pool, as well as other players' buildings (but you must pay to use them).

Awesome! Thanks for the assistance everyone......
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Hartman K.
United States
merrill
Wisconsin (WI)
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is the special ability of the players warehouse linked only to the player who owns the warehouse?

The question came about when one of our players was using the contractor. His special ability is to get "any one of any goods type.* *If you have the least amount of buildings or are tied for least, collect two goods of the same type"

If another player uses that warehouse, do they get to use the special ability, or not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anton Tolman
United States
Orem
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
William: our interpretation to your question is no. Otherwise, there would be less point in asymmetrical characters. You can use the "regular" ability of any other player character/starting building (and boy do we do so), but you cannot use their special ability.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.