Subject: paying off shares. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pete M

Blacksburg
Virginia
msg tools
mb
For some reason when I started playing ROTW, my group had it in our heads that shares could be paid off. Makes for a completely different game. Does anyone know where our rather significant rule mistake came from? Perhaps another game with a similar concept or a variant of some sort?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
pmacedo wrote:
For some reason when I started playing ROTW, my group had it in our heads that shares could be paid off. Makes for a completely different game. Does anyone know where our rather significant rule mistake came from? Perhaps another game with a similar concept or a variant of some sort?

Some cards in some of the expansions allow you to sell them back. But even then, the sell-off is limited.

As to other games that have this mechanic, could be any number of them.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Brokaw
United States
Hillsboro
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
It's not a damn moped!
mbmbmbmbmb
STEAM has a mechanic where VP can be allocated to increasing income (essentially removing debt) or increasing VP.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Madsen
United States
Kearns
Utah
flag msg tools
Trains!
badge
Houseplant?
mbmbmbmbmb
I think Railways of the World: Event Deck includes a few events that allow payoff.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
-=::) Dante (::=-
United States
KEW GARDENS
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
ColtsFan76 wrote:
Some cards in some of the expansions allow you to sell them back. But even then, the sell-off is limited.

Which expansions Brian? I've yet to come across that and now you've got me curious.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
NuMystic wrote:
ColtsFan76 wrote: