Adam
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
I design custom dividers, playmats, and cards for various BGG users.
badge
Check my profile page for links to all my posted projects!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Looking through the forums, there are a lot of questions that focus on "what happens when..." This post is just to serve as an in depth look at the Turn Sequence along with some examples of when you can play what (focus on Global Abilities), and when things trigger; plus a few examples.

Note: I am not affiliated with WizKids, I am just a user, but before anyone flames me about sharing this, please note that this is meant to help mostly newer players with a better understanding of the turn sequence which would actually answer a lot of questions before they were asked. Most of this comes straight from the rule book, but with added emphasis in common areas in questions.

This is a long post. If you are looking to find something specific, please use the Ctrl+F on your keyboard to search for keywords you are looking for.

One last thing before we jump in. This item has come up a lot recently. "Where can you target a die?" Page 19 of the Rule Book states: Unless otherwise stated, game effects can only target character dice that are in the Field. The Attack Zone is considered part of the Field." So unless the card states otherwise, you cannot target dice in the KO/Prep Area, Used Pile, Reserve Pool, or a player's Dice Bag.

The Turn Sequence

CLEAR AND DRAW STEP
d10-1Move Energy Dice
Clear any unused energy from your Reserve Pool and place it into your Used Pile

d10-2Draw 4 Dice From Your Dice Bag
If you cannot draw 4 dice from your dice bag, draw the remaining dice from your dice bag and set them aside. Take all the dice from your Used Pile, place them into your dice bag, shake it up and draw additional dice from your bag until you have drawn a total of 4 dice.

If after refilling your dice bag with the dice from your Used Pile, you are still only able to draw less than 4 dice, you take 1 damage and gain 1 generic (no symbol) energy for each die below 4 that you drew. Note that the damage taken and the generic energy gained is treated as one instance. Example: If you can only draw 2 dice, you take 2 damage and gain 2 generic energy.

Card effects that could trigger during this step:
Hulk-Anger Issues: While Hulk is active, when either you or the Hulk take damage, Hulk gets +2A and +2D (until the end of the turn).
*Hulk gets +3A and +3D instead.

Hulk-Annihilator: While Hulk is active, when either you or the Hulk take damage, move all Hulk dice from your used pile to your Prep Area.

Hulk-Jade Giant: While Hulk is Active, when either you or Hulk take damage, knock out one of your opponent’s level 1 characters.
*Instead knock out one opposing character of any level.

Hulk-Green Goliath: While Hulk is active, whenever either you or Hulk takes damage, Hulk deals 2 damage to each opposing character (no matter how many Hulks are fielded).
*He deals 3 damage instead.

d10-3Roll and Reroll Step
Roll the dice you drew plus any in your prep area.

Move any die that you do not wish to reroll into your Reserve Pool.

Reroll (all at once) all the dice you wish to reroll that you have not placed in your Reserve Pool.

START OF MAIN STEP
During this step, you may perform any of the actions in any order that you wish and as many times as you wish provided that you have the dice available to perform the actions multiple times.

Purchasing a Die
You can purchase a die from any of your characters or any of the 4 Basic Action cards shared by both players. To purchase a die, you must pay its cost in energy. If the card shows that it is a certain energy type, one of the energy used to pay that cost must be that type of energy.

Example: Spider-Man, “Tiger” has a cost of 4 and is a fist character. You can buy a Spider-Man die with three bolts and a fist, four fists, etc. The Basic Action card “Thrown Car” does not show an energy type next to its cost so you can use any type of energy to pay for a “Thrown Car” die.

To pay energy, immediately move dice showing that much energy from your Reserve Pool to your Used Pile, then take the die you purchased from the card and place it in your Used Pile as well. For generic energy, the number inside the circle shows how much energy it represents. For all other energy, each dice symbol counts as one energy.

Paying with Multiple Non-Generic Energy
If you have a die that produces two or more non-generic energy, you may partially spend the die’s energy by spinning it down to a face that reflects the unused portion of the die’s energy and place it in your Reserve Pool. Example: If you have a die that shows 2 Fist energy, you may partially spend the die’s energy by spinning it down to a face that shows the unused portion of the die’s energy, meaning spin the die down to a face that shows only 1 Fist energy.

Paying with Multiple Generic Energy
If you have a die that produces two or more generic energy, you may not spin down the die. Any unused portion of generic energy that is not immediately spent is lost. However, you can purchase multiple dice simultaneously to spend a generic die completely.

All unused energy remains in your Reserve Pool, generic or non-generic.

Use a Global Ability
Some character cards and Basic Action cards have Global Abilities printed on them in Red Text. These effects are always available regardless if there is a die from the card in the field or not.

During the Main Step, both player’s can play any Global Abilities. To use a global ability, you must pay the energy cost, moving the die or dice used to pay that cost to your used pile. In many cases, these effects may be used more than once if the cost can be paid multiple times. As with purchasing dice, you can partially spend non-generic energy.

If both players want to use a global ability at the same time, the player whose turn it is plays their Global Ability first.

List of Global Abilities that could be played during the Main Step by either player:
Basic Action-Invulnerability: Pay 1 Bolt. One target Character gets +1A (until the end of turn)
Basic Action-Smash!: Pay 1 Fist. Target blocked character deals no damage.
Basic Action-Take Cover: Pay 1 Shield to give one target character +1D (until the end of the turn)
Doctor Doom-Nemesis: If you have a Villain fielded, pay 1 Shield to give a target character -1A and -1D (knock out those with zero defense).
Green Goblin-Norman Osborn: Pay 1 Bolt and knock out one of your sidekick characters to deal 2 damage to a target character.
Human Torch-Flame On!: Pay 1 Bolt when you deal damage with an Action die, or Global Ability to deal one extra damage to one target.
Magneto-Holocaust Survivor: Pay 1 Mask to reroll a Villain die.
Magneto-Sonderkommando: Pay 1 Mask to reroll a Villain die.
Mijolnir-Fist of the Righteous: Pay 2 Bolt to deal 1 damage to a target character.
Mijolnir-Forged by Odin: Pay 2 Bolt to deal 1 damage to a target character.
Mijolnir-Thor’s Hammer: Pay 2 Bolt to deal 1 damage to a target character.
Silver Surfer-Silverado: Once during your turn, pay 1 Shield and take 2 damage to draw one die and place it into your Prep Area.
Silver Surfer-Sentinel: Once during your turn, pay 1 Shield and take 2 damage to draw one die and place it into your Prep Area.
Silver Surfer-Sky-Rider: Once during your turn, pay 1 Shield and take 2 damage to draw one die and place it into your Prep Area.
Venom-Eddie Brock: Pay 1 Fist to spin an opponent’s Fist character down 1 level.
Venom-Mac Gargan: Pay 1 Fist to spin an opponent’s Fist character down 1 level.
Venom-Angelo Fortunato: Pay 1 Fist to spin an opponent’s Fist character down 1 level.
Vibranium Shield-One of a Kind: Pay 1 Shield to prevent 1 damage to a character or player.
Vibranium Shield-Irreplaceable: Pay 1 Shield to prevent 1 damage to a character or player.
Vibranium Shield-Cap’s Protection: Pay 1 Shield to prevent 1 damage to a character or player.

List of Global Abilities that can ONLY be played by your opponent during the Main Step:
Mr. Fantastic-Brilliant Scientist: Pay 1 Mask. Target Character must attack this turn.
Mr. Fantastic-The Invincible Man: Pay 1 Mask. Target Character must attack this turn.
Phoenix-Ms. Psyche: Pay 1 Bolt. Target character must attack.
Phoenix-Redd: Pay 1 Bolt. Target character must attack.
Phoenix-Jeannie: Pay 1 Bolt. Target character must attack.

Playing Actions
You may use the action faces on your action dice during the Main Step. To do so, apply the effect and then move the Action die from your Reserve Pool to your Used Pile. It costs no extra energy to use an Action die

"When Damaged" card effects will trigger if the Basic Action Force Beam is played during this step.

If you receive damage from an Action, you are allowed, per Page 22 of the Rule Book to "react" with a Global Ability such as:
Iron Man: Inventor- Pay 1 Shield to redirect 1 damage from you to one of your characters.

Field Characters
When you field a character, you must pay energy equal to the character’s fielding cost in the upper left-hand corner of the die; in some cases, the cost is zero. If the cost is more than zero, the cost can be paid with any type of energy, even generic. As with purchasing dice, you can partially spend non-generic dice, and you can pay several costs at once to fully spend a generic-energy die. You cannot field a character if you cannot pay the energy cost.

Many characters have game effects that take place when they are fielded. Some of these effects target dice in your Used Pile. Such game effects cannot target or select a die that was used to pay for fielding the character; they can only affect dice that were in the Used Pile prior to the character being fielded.

You are not required to field a die if you do not wish to. Any characters that you cannot or do not field by the end of the main step go to your used pile.

If either player receives damage from a Fielded Character, both players are allowed, per Page 22 of the Rule Book to "react" with a Global Ability such as:
Iron Man: Inventor- Pay 1 Shield to redirect 1 damage from you to one of your characters.

Note: if fielding a character allows you to draw and roll a die or dice, these die cannot be rerolled unless the card specifically states otherwise as this die was drawn and rolled during the Main Step and not the Roll and Reroll Step part of the Clear and Draw Step.

Note: the game seems to check the status of each character and player after any effect or ability is triggered. Although this is not specifically mentioned anywhere, this seems to be the case as shown in the example below.

Example:
Player 1 has Human Torch fielded-
Human Torch-Flame On!: While Human Torch is Active, he deals 1 damage to a character or player each time you field a character (not 1 damage per die).

Player 2 has Venom fielded-
Venom-Angelo Fortunato: While Venom is active, your opponent’s non-Fist characters get -2A and -2D.

Player 1 fields a Sidekick during their Main Step.

Outcome: When the sidekick is fielded, it triggers Human Torch’s ability. The game stops and checks to see if the Sidekick is still legal. Because of Venom’s ability, the Sidekick has -1A and -1D. The Sidekick is immediately knocked out for having zero or less defense, but Player 1 still gets to do 1 damage to a character or player because the Sidekick was successfully fielded.


End of Main Step
At the end of this step, move any unfielded characters to the Used Pile.

ATTACK STEP
The Attack Step goes through the following steps, in order:

d10-1Declare Attackers
Any or all of your fielded characters can attack. Move these characters into the Attack Zone. It costs no energy to move a character into the Attack Zone. You can send all, some, or none of your characters to attack.

If you do not attack, or were not forced to attack due to a Global Ability played in the Main Step, your turn immediately ends (neither player can use global abilities in this case) and your opponents turn begins.

After you declare all attackers, apply any effects that happen due to characters attacking.

Example: Black Widow-Tsarina: When Black Widow attacks, she deals 2 damage to your opponent. Your opponent can prevent this by spinning one of his or her characters down one level.

This is where this ability resolves along with any other "When ___ attacks" character abilities. Even if Black Widow is removed after this step, the ability has already happened and resolved.


d10-2Declare Blockers
Your opponent declares blocking characters, moving them into the attack zone and assigning each one to block a specific attacker. Your opponent can block with all, some, or none of his or her characters.

A single blocker can only block one attacking character; it can’t block more than one. However, more than one blocker may be assigned to block a single attacker.

After all blockers are declared, apply any effects that take place due to blocking or being blocked. As is the case with all ties, the attacker resolves first, then the defender.

Example: Beast-Mutate #666: When Beast blocks, draw one die and place it in your Prep Area.
*Instead draw 2 dice; place one in your Prep Area and the other in your Used Pile.

This is where this ability resolves along with any other "When ___ blocks" character abilities. Even if Beast's attacker is removed after this step, the ability has already happened and resolved.


d10-3Play Actions and Global Abilities
The attacking player can use Action dice and Global Abilities; the defending player can use Global Abilities.

If both players have such effects that they wish to use, the attacking player gets to go first.

List of Global Abilities that could be played during the Attack Step by either player:
Basic Action-Distraction: Pay 1 Mask to remove one attacker from the Attack Zone to the field.
Basic Action-Invulnerability: Pay 1 Bolt. One target Character gets +1A (until the end of turn)
Basic Action-Smash!: Pay 1 Fist. Target blocked character deals no damage.
Basic Action-Take Cover: Pay 1 Shield to give one target character +1D (until the end of the turn)
Doctor Doom-Nemesis: If you have a Villain fielded, pay 1 Shield to give a target character -1A and -1D (knock out those with zero defense).
Green Goblin-Norman Osborn: Pay 1 Bolt and knock out one of your sidekick characters to deal 2 damage to a target character.
Human Torch-Flame On!: Pay 1 Bolt when you deal damage with an Action die, or Global Ability to deal one extra damage to one target.
Magneto-Holocaust Survivor: Pay 1 Mask to reroll a Villain die.
Magneto-Sonderkommando: Pay 1 Mask to reroll a Villain die.
Mijolnir-Fist of the Righteous: Pay 2 Bolt to deal 1 damage to a target character.
Mijolnir-Forged by Odin: Pay 2 Bolt to deal 1 damage to a target character.
Mijolnir-Thor’s Hammer: Pay 2 Bolt to deal 1 damage to a target character.
Silver Surfer-Silverado: Once during your turn, pay 1 Shield and take 2 damage to draw one die and place it into your Prep Area.
Silver Surfer-Sentinel: Once during your turn, pay 1 Shield and take 2 damage to draw one die and place it into your Prep Area.
Silver Surfer-Sky-Rider: Once during your turn, pay 1 Shield and take 2 damage to draw one die and place it into your Prep Area.
Venom-Eddie Brock: Pay 1 Fist to spin an opponent’s Fist character down 1 level.
Venom-Mac Gargan: Pay 1 Fist to spin an opponent’s Fist character down 1 level.
Venom-Angelo Fortunato: Pay 1 Fist to spin an opponent’s Fist character down 1 level.
Vibranium Shield-One of a Kind: Pay 1 Shield to prevent 1 damage to a character or player.
Vibranium Shield-Irreplaceable: Pay 1 Shield to prevent 1 damage to a character or player.
Vibranium Shield-Cap’s Protection: Pay 1 Shield to prevent 1 damage to a character or player.

"When Damaged" card effects will trigger if the Basic Action Force Beam is played during this step.

d10-4Assign and Resolve Damage
Note: this section was amended. Damage is simultaneous to both characters and defending player.
Both players assign damage. Damage occurs simultaneously. (In the rare case where it is relevant, the attacking player assigns first, although damage still resolves simultaneously.)

Each attacking character that was blocked assigns its attack value in damage to the character(s) blocking it. If more than one character is blocking an attacking character, the attacker can choose how to divide the damage between the blockers. Likewise, each blocking character assigns damage equal to its attack value to the character it blocks (characters that can block more than one attacker must split their damage just like attackers do). If two or more characters block a single character, add their attack values together.

Damage dealt to a character in excess of that character’s defense is wasted.

Once all damage has been assigned (to both characters and defending player), knock out each character that took damage greater than or equal to its defense. When a character is knocked out, move it to that player’s prep area.

If game effects are generated by a character being knocked out, or by taking damage, the attacking player resolves all effects first, then the defender.

If you receive damage from a ability triggered when a character is knocked out, you are allowed, per Page 22 of the Rule Book to "react" with a Global Ability such as:

List of Global Abilities that can ONLY be played by the active player whose turn it is if the opponent is damaged:
War Machine-Combat Comrade: When one of your Shield characters damages your opponent in the attack step, pay Shield to gain 1 life.
War Machine-Parnell Jacobs: When one of your Shield characters damages your opponent in the attack step, pay Shield to gain 1 life.
War Machine-James Rhodes: When one of your Shield characters damages your opponent in the attack step, pay Shield to gain 1 life.

List of Global Abilities that can ONLY be played by the opposing player who receives combat damaged:
Iron Man-Inventor: Pay 1 Shield to redirect 1 damage from you to one of your characters.

If your opponent’s life reaches zero, the game ends and you win.

CLEAN UP
Characters that blocked (or were blocked) but were not knocked out return to the Field.

Place unblocked attacking characters in the player’s Used Pile (even if the defending player managed to prevent or redirect all the damage done).

All damage to all dice is cleared.

Any actions still in a player’s reserve pool are moved to the Used Pile.

All card effects end (exception: “while active” effects may continue). The turn ends.

TURN END

Please feel free to post any comments, corrections, or questions.

Happy Gaming!
-1havok12

60 
 Thumb up
3.41
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Worth
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I don't think you use Warmachine's global during a global action window. Rather it can be used immediately on the damage being done to the opponent
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
I design custom dividers, playmats, and cards for various BGG users.
badge
Check my profile page for links to all my posted projects!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kworth wrote:
I don't think you use Warmachine's global during a global action window. Rather it can be used immediately on the damage being done to the opponent

You are correct. I will edit the post. Page 22 of the rule book discusses reactions to damage and using Global Abilities. So Warmachine's Global would be used once Damage is assigned to the opponent.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Crazy Fella
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
EDIT: Nevermind. Was asking how Hulk could trigger in Draw and Clear step, didn't see your explanation. That has never come up in any of my games. Crazy!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cristiano Cozzolino
Italy
Roma
RM
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1havok12 wrote:

Note: it is important to understand exactly when a player's life reaches zero and what caused it. With multiple abilities going off, it can mean the difference between winning and loosing a game.

Note: although damage is "simultaneous", the description above from page 8 of the rule book, lists the damage done to the opponent from unblocked characters after the damage to blockers has resolved and after any triggered effects from that damage.


I don't get why you added those notes. In any case damage (as specified in the rulebook) is ALWAYS dealt simultaneously so even if you go step by step and at a certain point a player reach 0 you still have to go on assigning damage and this can still have effect on the other player life points.
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
I design custom dividers, playmats, and cards for various BGG users.
badge
Check my profile page for links to all my posted projects!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Elianto wrote:
1havok12 wrote:

Note: it is important to understand exactly when a player's life reaches zero and what caused it. With multiple abilities going off, it can mean the difference between winning and loosing a game.

Note: although damage is "simultaneous", the description above from page 8 of the rule book, lists the damage done to the opponent from unblocked characters after the damage to blockers has resolved and after any triggered effects from that damage.


I don't get why you added those notes. In any case damage (as specified in the rulebook) is ALWAYS dealt simultaneously so even if you go step by step and at a certain point a player reach 0 you still have to go on assigning damage and this can still have effect on the other player life points.


As it is written in the rule book, the word "simultaneously" is referring to combat damage between characters. Then a new paragraph starts (little hard to see, but it is indented from the previous) talking about how excess damage to a character is wasted. Then another paragraph declares once all damage has been assigned, knock out characters and trigger any KO abilities ("When KO'd"). Then lastly another paragraph states that attacking characters that were unblocked deal damage to the defending player.

As it is written, combat damage between characters is simultaneous, but not simultaneous with damage dealt to the opposing player.

Lets look at some examples where understanding this is important.

Character Combat Damage:
Let's say I have fielded Hulk-Jade Giant. Simultaneous combat damage prevents me from being able to activate his ability to KO an attacker prior to their damage being dealt.

Combat Damage to Player with Triggered "When KO'd Abilities":
Lets say I have 1 life left and I have fielded Beast-Genetic Expert which allows me to gain 1 life if he is KO'd while blocking. My opponent attacks me and I am able to block everything except one character that is going to hit me for 1 damage. Do I live?

Yes. Damage between characters happens simultaneously and Beast is knocked out. His ability triggers when he is knocked out, so I gain 1 life bringing me to 2. Then the lone unblocked sidekick gets through and hits me for 1 so my life is back down to 1.
I have edited the OP. Damage is simultaneous between characters and the defending player.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Lindell
United States
Hillsboro
OR
flag msg tools
badge
Stay frosty, my friends.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great job laying out the turn sequence!

A couple missing globals, though:

Basic Action - Smash!
Iron Man - Inventor. As it allows damage redirection, it would be helpful to have it in the list of globals on the steps where it is allowed
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
I design custom dividers, playmats, and cards for various BGG users.
badge
Check my profile page for links to all my posted projects!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MisterPhoton wrote:
Great job laying out the turn sequence!

A couple missing globals, though:

Basic Action - Smash!
Iron Man - Inventor. As it allows damage redirection, it would be helpful to have it in the list of globals on the steps where it is allowed

Edited the OP. Thanks for the catch!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1havok12 wrote:
List of Global Abilities that can ONLY be played by the opposing player who receives combat damaged:
Iron Man-Inventor: Pay 1 Shield to redirect 1 damage from you to one of your characters.


Is it only for combat damage? Couldn't the attacker use Inventor Iron Man's Global if opponent blocked with Genetic Expert Beast or Mac Gargan Venom (both can deal damage to attacking player when they are blocking).
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
I design custom dividers, playmats, and cards for various BGG users.
badge
Check my profile page for links to all my posted projects!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dam the Man wrote:
1havok12 wrote:
List of Global Abilities that can ONLY be played by the opposing player who receives combat damaged:
Iron Man-Inventor: Pay 1 Shield to redirect 1 damage from you to one of your characters.


Is it only for combat damage? Couldn't the attacker use Inventor Iron Man's Global if opponent blocked with Genetic Expert Beast or Mac Gargan Venom (both can deal damage to attacking player when they are blocking).

Yes. I missed that one. Thanks for the catch! Edited the OP.

Basically any time you could receive damage, Iron Man-Inventor's global can be used to "react" to whatever and whenever that source of damage occurred. Actions, Globals, KO abilities, Fielding Abilities, etc. Its one of the few Globals that seems to always be available and it's trigger can come from a variety of game effects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Lindell
United States
Hillsboro
OR
flag msg tools
badge
Stay frosty, my friends.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1havok12 wrote:

Yes. I missed that one. Thanks for the catch! Edited the OP.

Basically any time you could receive damage, Iron Man-Inventor's global can be used to "react" to whatever and whenever that source of damage occurred. Actions, Globals, KO abilities, Fielding Abilities, etc. Its one of the few Globals that seems to always be available and it's trigger can come from a variety of game effects.


I think the only time you wouldn't be able to use the global on Iron Man: Inventor is for damage taken due to not having enough dice in your draw step, since you've already cleared your reserved energy from the previous turn, but have not yet rolled dice to gain energy for your current turn. Do you agree?
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
I design custom dividers, playmats, and cards for various BGG users.
badge
Check my profile page for links to all my posted projects!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. That is the only time you will not have any available energy to spend for his global.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafał Kruczek
Poland
Legnica
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The idea of such list is great.
Sadly, execution is flawed.

1havok12 wrote:
Elianto wrote:
1havok12 wrote:

Note: it is important to understand exactly when a player's life reaches zero and what caused it. With multiple abilities going off, it can mean the difference between winning and loosing a game.

Note: although damage is "simultaneous", the description above from page 8 of the rule book, lists the damage done to the opponent from unblocked characters after the damage to blockers has resolved and after any triggered effects from that damage.


I don't get why you added those notes. In any case damage (as specified in the rulebook) is ALWAYS dealt simultaneously so even if you go step by step and at a certain point a player reach 0 you still have to go on assigning damage and this can still have effect on the other player life points.


As it is written in the rule book, the word "simultaneously" is referring to combat damage between characters. Then a new paragraph starts (little hard to see, but it is indented from the previous) talking about how excess damage to a character is wasted. Then another paragraph declares once all damage has been assigned, knock out characters and trigger any KO abilities ("When KO'd"). Then lastly another paragraph states that attacking characters that were unblocked deal damage to the defending player.

As it is written, combat damage between characters is simultaneous, but not simultaneous with damage dealt to the opposing player.

Lets look at some examples where understanding this is important.

Character Combat Damage:
Let's say I have fielded Hulk-Jade Giant. Simultaneous combat damage prevents me from being able to activate his ability to KO an attacker prior to their damage being dealt.

Combat Damage to Player with Triggered "When KO'd Abilities":
Lets say I have 1 life left and I have fielded Beast-Genetic Expert which allows me to gain 1 life if he is KO'd while blocking. My opponent attacks me and I am able to block everything except one character that is going to hit me for 1 damage. Do I live?

Yes. Damage between characters happens simultaneously and Beast is knocked out. His ability triggers when he is knocked out, so I gain 1 life bringing me to 2. Then the lone unblocked sidekick gets through and hits me for 1 so my life is back down to 1.



You imply FAR TOO MUCH from order of rules in manual.
It designers wrote that that combat damage is simultaneuos,so IT IS SIMULTANEOUS.
MDM_Rules.pdf wrote:
Assign Damage
Both players assign damage. Damage occurs simultaneously.

It don't know how much clearer it could be written

There are TWO cases:
1. Attacker is blocked - Complicated case with dame going back and forth, sometimes damage must be divided between targets, there are triggers,lot of rules mess.
2. Attacker is unblocked. Simply "Deduct that damage from the player’s life."
Damage is assigned, then is chance to redirect and/or prevent. If not prevented damage is dealt. Game over.

Yes it means that sometimes life from Beast-Genetic Expert is Too Late TM. I'm sorry for your loss.

Yes, these paragraphs SHOULD be in reverse order.
Quote:
Once all damage has been assigned, knock out each character that took damage greater
than or equal to its defense. When a character is knocked out, move it to that player’s
prep area. If game effects are generated by a character being knocked out, or by taking
damage, the attacking player resolves all effects first, then the defender.

Attacking characters that were unblocked (or characters with certain special abilities)
deal damage to the defending player. Deduct that damage from the player’s life.

But order doesn't invalidate general rule, EXPLICIT
Damage occurs simultaneously.

There are several games in which damage in not simutaneous. MDM's Designers know how to indicate it. For example in Eric Lang's Chaos in the Old World ,Khorne's Bloodletter upgrade reads: "In battle, your Bloodletters roll their battle dice and inflict any casualties before other figures roll their dice"

So I can safely assume that Eric M. Lang would word "before" and/or "after" if he wanted make "unblocked damage" to follow "blocked damage".

But there is only one "Assign Damage" step, because damage is simultaneous.

There is no First Strike in Dice Masters. Yet.

1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rafal100 wrote:
There is no First Strike in Dice Masters. Yet.


Rare Hawkeye?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafał Kruczek
Poland
Legnica
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dam the Man wrote:
rafal100 wrote:
There is no First Strike in Dice Masters. Yet.


Rare Hawkeye?

Of course. OK. Thank you.
So we have IN-GAME example that Designer knows how to phrase damage precedence.
"Hawkeye - Robin Hood. When assigning damage in an attack step, Hawkeye assigns and resolves his damage before opposing characters."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Cates
United States
Visalia
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd recommend formatting the original post into a pdf and posting it in the files section. It's a valuable piece of information that could be used as a player aid.
4 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
I design custom dividers, playmats, and cards for various BGG users.
badge
Check my profile page for links to all my posted projects!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rafal100
I concur. I took a step back, pushed my previous notions aside and realized that I believe I did read too much into this.

Although the argument cannot be made as you have stated that
rafal100 wrote:
"There are several games in which damage in not simutaneous. MDM's Designers know how to indicate it. For example in Eric Lang's Chaos in the Old World ,Khorne's Bloodletter upgrade reads: "In battle, your Bloodletters roll their battle dice and inflict any casualties before other figures roll their dice"
The fact of the matter is that the designers have inconsistent wording in a few places that have lead to confusion and unclear contradiction with their own rules.
Spoiler (click to reveal)

For example:
Mr. Fantastic-Brilliant Scientist: Mr. Fantastic gets +2A and +2D while blocking.
Mr. Fantastic-The Invincible Man: While blocking, you may redirect up to 2 damage from Mr. Fantastic to the character he blocks.
Beast-Big Boy Blue: Beast gets +1A and +1D (until end of turn) when he blocks.

The confusion is that these are all considered Bonuses as defined and detailed on page 19 of the rule book and they are stated as "Once gained, bonuses last until end of turn." But seeing as there is only that text shown on Beast's card, players are arguing that the other examples above loose their bonuses early meaning that they could be KO'd at the start of the Clean Up step

But I do concur with you sir. Page 24 is what convinced me that you were correct and my previous statement was incorrect.

Attack Step:
Select Attackers. Resolve effects that occur due to attacking.
Assign blockers. Resolve effects that occur due to blocking.
Use action dice. Place them in our used pile when finished.
Both players can use global abilities.
Assign and resolve damage. Resolve effects that occur due to the damage or knock out.

The way it is written on Page 8 of the Rule Book, it appeared, and could be argued, that they were separate, but Page 24 clearly addresses damage and KO'd effects together on the same line.

I will amend the OP. Here is some
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
I design custom dividers, playmats, and cards for various BGG users.
badge
Check my profile page for links to all my posted projects!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ironcates wrote:
I'd recommend formatting the original post into a pdf and posting it in the files section. It's a valuable piece of information that could be used as a player aid.

Thanks. That is a good idea. I'll get on it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Verhelst
Canada
Edmonton
AB
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Love the work you've done Adam. I found it to be a little much to use when teaching so I made myself a simplified version. I've uploaded it to the files section and it should be live soon, but here's a picture of it.

This isn't meant to take the place or be "better" than what you've done by any means. It's just a quick simple reference that you can use when you're first learning the game.

Hope I didn't step on any toes.



Here's the PDF.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
I design custom dividers, playmats, and cards for various BGG users.
badge
Check my profile page for links to all my posted projects!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Vidfreaky wrote:
Love the work you've done Adam. I found it to be a little much to use when teaching so I made myself a simplified version. I've uploaded it to the files section and it should be live soon, but here's a picture of it.

This isn't meant to take the place or be "better" than what you've done by any means. It's just a quick simple reference that you can use when you're first learning the game.

Hope I didn't step on any toes.



Here's the PDF.

Very cool. Nope my toes are still intact!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafał Kruczek
Poland
Legnica
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1havok12 wrote:

Spoiler (click to reveal)

For example:
Mr. Fantastic-Brilliant Scientist: Mr. Fantastic gets +2A and +2D while blocking.
Mr. Fantastic-The Invincible Man: While blocking, you may redirect up to 2 damage from Mr. Fantastic to the character he blocks.
Beast-Big Boy Blue: Beast gets +1A and +1D (until end of turn) when he blocks.

The confusion is that these are all considered Bonuses as defined and detailed on page 19 of the rule book and they are stated as "Once gained, bonuses last until end of turn." But seeing as there is only that text shown on Beast's card, players are arguing that the other examples above loose their bonuses early meaning that they could be KO'd at the start of the Clean Up step


This reminds me ancient discusion about End of turn step/phase in Magic the Gathering. It undergone several reforms, required erratas (called Oracle wording). "at the end of turn" meant completely different than "until end of turn" and player got priority between them. And some effects could be played. And there was beginning of the end step, and some other confusing mess, now probaly cleaned up with 6th edition rules and years of futher clean up.

DM is younger game and has porbaly much smaller desing team and development team. Wizards of the Coast have a person only duty is ensure that wording of cards are right and not in conflict with other cards.

In DM end of combat basically is the end of turn so bonus "when blocks +_A,+_D" is equivalent to "when blocks +_A,+_D until end of turn" unless somebody really want to look for some loopholes. Defence bonus which clear before damage clear has no sense. As some End of Turn nonsesnse didn't make sesne in Magic.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timo Tischel
Germany
herrenberg
Baden-Württemberg
flag msg tools
Playing Actions
You may use the action faces on your action dice during the Main Step. To do so, apply the effect and then move the Action die from your Reserve Pool to your Used Pile. It costs no extra energy to use an Action die

"When Damaged" card effects will trigger if the Basic Action Force Beam is played during this step.

If you use f.e. force beam twice (2 different die), will the "when damaged-effect" also triggers twice?

And if you use it in the attack step, before the characters deal damage, it will trigger once for force beam and also for the damaged dealed by character(s), correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Walker
United States
Meridian
Idaho
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tischel181 wrote:
Playing Actions
You may use the action faces on your action dice during the Main Step. To do so, apply the effect and then move the Action die from your Reserve Pool to your Used Pile. It costs no extra energy to use an Action die

"When Damaged" card effects will trigger if the Basic Action Force Beam is played during this step.

If you use f.e. force beam twice (2 different die), will the "when damaged-effect" also triggers twice?


Yes. As long as it is triggered by two distinct sources of damage. In this case each die represents a separate source of damage. You could not however use the Iron Man global to redirect damage from yourself to Hulk for him to trigger twice from the same Force Beam action. Same original source already caused his trigger.

Tischel181 wrote:
And if you use it in the attack step, before the characters deal damage, it will trigger once for force beam and also for the damaged dealed by character(s), correct?


Also yes. Again two separate sources of damage: one the action die, the other the attack value of the opposed engaged die.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Timo Tischel
Germany
herrenberg
Baden-Württemberg
flag msg tools
When you talking about different sources:
If a chara with "when damaged" is blocked by two or more blockers it will only triger the effect once, cause the damage is done the same time.
I was thinking of this cause my Nova - Quasar was blocked by 3 charas.
But it will trigger twice if he would be also blocked by a chara which does the damage before others.

@Josh Thank you for the quick reply :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ector Babonden
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Many thanks for this detailed turn sequence...great job!!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.