Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Barghest "Howl" and line of sight rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
01neo01
Spain
Bilbao
Vizcaya
flag msg tools
mb
Barghest "Howl" ability says "Each hero within 3 spaces of this monster must test Willpower. Each hero that fails suffers 1 Fatigue".
Is "line of sight" from the Barghest to the heroes required?
I understand that it's not required.

And does bloquing terrain or doors affect to the "3 spaces" count?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thorsten Schröder
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
badge
Loser at the 'Pursuit of Happiness Contest'
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Line of sight is not required. Closed Doors however will block the howl, since the spaces on both sides of the doors are not considered adjacend and you count distance only from adjacent space to adjacent space.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Burigo
Italy
Belluno
flag msg tools
designer
badge
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cuthailion wrote:
Line of sight is not required. Closed Doors however will block the howl, since the spaces on both sides of the doors are not considered adjacend and you count distance only from adjacent space to adjacent space.


Correct. That practically is... line of hearing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bert McCloud
United Kingdom
Berkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Painkeeper wrote:
Cuthailion wrote:
Line of sight is not required. Closed Doors however will block the howl, since the spaces on both sides of the doors are not considered adjacend and you count distance only from adjacent space to adjacent space.


Correct. That practically is... line of hearing.


Even more relevant when you remember that Overgrowth (Labyrinth of ruin) blocks line of sight but the squares ARE adjacent. So you can still hear through a bush!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.