Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43» Forums » Rules

Subject: Batteries kaput rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Lee
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
What happens when the above happens? Do you have to abort the patrol? If so, or if not, what are the ramifications to the boat?

THANKS in advance.

John
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Raymond
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
I think this is covered in the rules...

but not specifically. It depends on if you have diesel engines to recharge the batteries and, if not, how close you are to base.

You can still surface if it is only exhausted batteries. You must recharge using the diesels. If you can't do that, read rule 10.2.1 about scuttling and crew recovery.

Good luck.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Foster Caldaroni
United States
Warrenville
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is nothing in the rules saying you must abort a patrol if your batteries are inoperable.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim P
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Glück muss man haben
badge
But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you… And I will beat you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On table [E5] U-Boat Damage and Repair Chart it states that you have a +1 mod on rolls to table [E3] Escort/Air Attack. Other wise I think that is it. I think Greg commented on this once before saying that this represents a major portion of the batteries being damaged not all of them.

Jim
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,
Jim P is right as usual
There are a lot of batteries. If they are damaged, then you fail to repair them, the inoperable status for them really should read "batteries are operating at reduced power, and despite our best efforts, will not provide full power for the rest of the patrol"

Same logic for the fuel tanks, btw. They aren't really inoperable in the sense you're getting zero fuel to the engines - it just means you could not fix the leak.

Hope that makes sense,
Greg
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.