Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Keyflower: Key Celeste» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tile layout and Sea Breese rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


(1) Is the layout of the above image legal?

(2) If yes, does it count as 1, 2 or 3 boats for the Sea Breese?
- 1, because it is only one boat in a straight line originating from home?
- 2, because there are two boats in a single non-straight line?
- 3, because there are three boats connected via water altogether, no matter in which layout configuration?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Bleasdale
United Kingdom
Windsor
Berkshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
(1) Is the layout of the above image legal?
The Key Celeste and Sea Breese can only be placed at the end of winter, which means for the layout shown to have been constructed, the home tile and boat 1a would have been unconnected during autumn and winter. This is not allowed so, strictly speaking, the layout of the above image is not legal.

If we ignore this point, and pretend you won all three of the boat tiles shown in winter, then the layout shown is fine.

Quote:
(2) If yes, does it count as 1, 2 or 3 boats for the Sea Breese?
- 1, because it is only one boat in a straight line originating from home?
- 2, because there are two boats in a single non-straight line?
- 3, because there are three boats connected via water altogether, no matter in which layout configuration?
Quoting from the Keyflower rules, the Sea Breese counts "points as indicated for each boat that connects by river to the home tile". There are three boat tiles connected in your picture, so the answer is three.

I hope this helps, and that you continue to enjoy Keyflower.

Sebastian Bleasdale
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The situation is not legal if these are the only tiles that the player got between spring and summer. However, it is entirely possible that the Home tile is connected to the above boat through other land tiles.


But that was not the question anyway...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The emphasize of my question are first, the basic connection rules considering the "open water" of Key Celeste, and second, the restrictions, if any, towards the layout to score for the Sea Breeze (all in a line, all in straight line, branching allowed etc.).

The picture is only a way, to make complicated descriptions about general configuration possibilities unnecessary.

Please ignore any considerations, if the depicted tiles (only) can be connect in this exact way in a real play, for example, because of the order, in which you obtain the tiles.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.