Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Pandemic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Doubts about EVENT cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gustavo Ladeira
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Hi there! o/

I have two questions about Event cards...

1- Can you use an Event card in another player even if the card doesn't specify that? (For instance, the description of the Event "Borrowed Time" is: 'Take 2 extra actions this turn'. Am I allowed to use it in other player's pawn?)

2- Can you use an Event card right after drawing a card? (For instance, could you use the card I described above just after taking it from the deck? Before infecting the cities at the end of the turn?)

Thank you, people! =D
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Gameson
United Kingdom
Worcestershire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello!

Yes, you can use any event card in any turn (pg 7 of "Vanilla" rulebook: "During a turn, any player may play an event card".

And a second yes too! You can play Event cards after any instance happens, once that instance has been completed (drawing cards, epidemics, etc.).

You can't play event cards after an instance has been started but not completed (see eg. on Pg 7). The exception to this is the "Resilient Population" event which can be played in the middle of an Epidemic.

Hope this helps

PS. By instance, I mean an event that happens in game...I couldn't use too many event words here!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keng Leong Yeo
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
aka Uncle
badge
小富靠勤,中富靠智,大富靠德。
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cretino wrote:
Hi there! o/

I have two questions about Event cards...

1- Can you use an Event card in another player even if the card doesn't specify that? (For instance, the description of the Event "Borrowed Time" is: 'Take 2 extra actions this turn'. Am I allowed to use it in other player's pawn?)

2- Can you use an Event card right after drawing a card? (For instance, could you use the card I described above just after taking it from the deck? Before infecting the cities at the end of the turn?)

Thank you, people! =D

1) From what I remember, yes, you can play "Borrowed Time" on another player.

2) You need to resolve the drawn card first before using any Event card.

However, your above example doesn't work, because you have already completed the four actions and are drawing cards from the deck. In other words, you may not take four actions, draw "Borrowed Time", play "Borrowed Time" on yourself, then go back and take two extra actions. However, you may play "Borrowed Time" later on another player or on yourself in a later turn to get two extra actions.

Quoting the rules: "Event cards can be played at any time, except in between drawing and resolving a card."

Edit: Inclusion of "However".
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
TheOneEared wrote:
Hello!

Yes, you can use any event card in any turn (pg 7 of "Vanilla" rulebook: "During a turn, any player may play an event card".



Minor clarification on this point:

A couple of Events may only be played after a cure is discovered.

I don't remember for certain, but I think these are in either On The Brink, or In The Lab (or possibly one in each), so if you have just the base game then you don't need to worry about this.

And, if you have the updated edition, when you can play an Event is written on the card itself, just below the Event title, in the black half-arrow.

I'm not sure if the original edition's Event cards had this information on or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Gameson
United Kingdom
Worcestershire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeoster wrote:

However, your above example doesn't work, because you have already completed the four actions and are drawing cards from the deck. In other words, you may not take four actions, draw "Borrowed Time", play "Borrowed Time" on yourself, then go back and take two extra actions. However, you may play "Borrowed Time" later on another player or on yourself in a later turn to get two extra actions.

Quoting the rules: "Event cards can be played at any time, except in between drawing and resolving a card."


This is true, however, this is due to a special rule for this specific "Borrowed Time" card on Pg. 2 of O.T.B, rather than the rule quoted (that rule applies for things like Infection cards or Epidemics)

---

Scorpion0x17 wrote:

Minor clarification on this point:

A couple of Events may only be played after a cure is discovered.

I don't remember for certain, but I think these are in either On The Brink, or In The Lab (or possibly one in each), so if you have just the base game then you don't need to worry about this.

And, if you have the updated edition, when you can play an Event is written on the card itself, just below the Event title, in the black half-arrow.

I'm not sure if the original edition's Event cards had this information on or not.


True. I was speaking generally (Cards have a habit of kicking the rules' behind in a fight! )

Also, did you mean 2nd Edition? That's the one I have (with the Quarantine Specialist etc. added). Not sure on 1st Ed.
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keng Leong Yeo
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
aka Uncle
badge
小富靠勤,中富靠智,大富靠德。
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TheOneEared wrote:
This is true, however, this is due to a special rule for this specific "Borrowed Time" card on Pg. 2 of O.T.B, rather than the rule quoted (that rule applies for things like Infection cards or Epidemics)

Yes, I should have quoted the rule immediately after the first line of my clarification before explaining that "Borrowed Time" doesn't work that way. Thanks for clearing that up for the benefit of Gustavo.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will

Pensacola
Florida
msg tools
The Babylon Project was our last best hope for peace. It failed. In the year of the Shadow War, it became something greater, our last best hope for victory.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
TheOneEared wrote:
Hello!

Yes, you can use any event card in any turn (pg 7 of "Vanilla" rulebook: "During a turn, any player may play an event card".



Minor clarification on this point:

A couple of Events may only be played after a cure is discovered.

I don't remember for certain, but I think these are in either On The Brink, or In The Lab (or possibly one in each), so if you have just the base game then you don't need to worry about this.

And, if you have the updated edition, when you can play an Event is written on the card itself, just below the Event title, in the black half-arrow.

I'm not sure if the original edition's Event cards had this information on or not.


I don't have In The Lab yet, but I do have On The Brink. There are event cards in OTB that are played immediately after a cure is discovered. I had the 1 that allows you to clear 1 - 5 cubes, which led to an interesting situation. I had 3 eradicated, and the last disease down to 1 cube when I turned in the cure. The game ends immediately after the 4 are cured, but had I been able to play that card, then I would have had the board completely cleared.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Broadstorm wrote:
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
TheOneEared wrote:
Hello!

Yes, you can use any event card in any turn (pg 7 of "Vanilla" rulebook: "During a turn, any player may play an event card".



Minor clarification on this point:

A couple of Events may only be played after a cure is discovered.

I don't remember for certain, but I think these are in either On The Brink, or In The Lab (or possibly one in each), so if you have just the base game then you don't need to worry about this.

And, if you have the updated edition, when you can play an Event is written on the card itself, just below the Event title, in the black half-arrow.

I'm not sure if the original edition's Event cards had this information on or not.


I don't have In The Lab yet, but I do have On The Brink. There are event cards in OTB that are played immediately after a cure is discovered. I had the 1 that allows you to clear 1 - 5 cubes, which led to an interesting situation. I had 3 eradicated, and the last disease down to 1 cube when I turned in the cure. The game ends immediately after the 4 are cured, but had I been able to play that card, then I would have had the board completely cleared.

If I'd've been in that situation I would have aimed to remove the cube before turning in the cards for the cure!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will

Pensacola
Florida
msg tools
The Babylon Project was our last best hope for peace. It failed. In the year of the Shadow War, it became something greater, our last best hope for victory.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
Broadstorm wrote:
Scorpion0x17 wrote:
TheOneEared wrote:
Hello!

Yes, you can use any event card in any turn (pg 7 of "Vanilla" rulebook: "During a turn, any player may play an event card".



Minor clarification on this point:

A couple of Events may only be played after a cure is discovered.

I don't remember for certain, but I think these are in either On The Brink, or In The Lab (or possibly one in each), so if you have just the base game then you don't need to worry about this.

And, if you have the updated edition, when you can play an Event is written on the card itself, just below the Event title, in the black half-arrow.

I'm not sure if the original edition's Event cards had this information on or not.


I don't have In The Lab yet, but I do have On The Brink. There are event cards in OTB that are played immediately after a cure is discovered. I had the 1 that allows you to clear 1 - 5 cubes, which led to an interesting situation. I had 3 eradicated, and the last disease down to 1 cube when I turned in the cure. The game ends immediately after the 4 are cured, but had I been able to play that card, then I would have had the board completely cleared.

If I'd've been in that situation I would have aimed to remove the cube before turning in the cards for the cure!


I did actually clear the last cube with the role that went immediately prior to the role that cured the last disease, and hoped for the new infection cards to not come up with that color, but 1 did in the same city as what I had just cleared. More turns of infection would have meant more being infected, but I would also have run out of player cards to draw.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.