3 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Sessions

Subject: My First Battle Report: Assault On Imdaar Alpha rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Glen Nielsen
Canada
flag msg tools
Hey guys, so, I just started playing a few weeks ago and happened to see all these AOIA events coming up. I decided "Hey, for $10, it's a competitive practice that'll help me learn the game a little better against more skilled players who know what they're doing." I had to travel an hour there and back to do it, but I thought it'd be worth it. I went in with no expectations, my friend and I both having just started, we just went for a good time.

After a few posts on different forums, I got a lot of feedback on what to run of the lists I was thinking about and ended up falling back on the only list I really played (despite that only being a few times):

Biggs

Rookie Pilot

Dagger Squadron x2

Advanced Sensors

I had seen this played by Paul Heaver at the Worlds last year and figured since I had the most knowledge from watching it multiple times, it was a solid list for me instead of trying to build my own. I didn't make the decision until I actually got to the venue haha, but the choice was made when they asked what I was playing. Armed with my new knowledge of how Advanced Sensors actually worked (I'd been using them just for barrel rolls lol), I was ready to go. There were 12 people total and the day began.

Round 1

Standing with my friend, squinting up at the screen to see the pairings, we both looked at each other and laughed, we'd been paired against each other. It was probably the best thing for us, as we were semi-familiar with each others squadrons and it gave us a chance to have a friendly game where we could both ease into the tournament atmosphere. He was flying:

Wedge

Luke

Biggs