Mike Dodgson
Canada
North York
ON
flag msg tools
Hello all,

As a new designer I've started like many of you ... played games and felt "this could be done better". Of course this lead to the development of new game mechanics that would make several games different, and to my point of view, more fun.

Question:
======================
So if I were to develop my own custom dice and "rules enhancements", for sale on Amazon for Warhammer, would I get sued?

I'm thinking of this as being like a module or game scenario.

Research:
======================
I found this ( http://warhammer40k.wikia.com/wiki/Warhammer_40k:Copyrights ) and the related link for "remix" states that I need to give credit to the authors. I would certainly do this.

I'm not a lawyer so a quick read did not lead me to believe I would be at risk.

What if it succeeds ...
=======================
In the surprising situation that the game supplement actually did sell well, if Warhammer folks wanted to implement the changes, do they have any obligation to compensate me?
(I'd suspect they would simply make a slight tweak and take the idea)

Thanks all,
(And yes I know you are not a lawyer and not legally bound by your opinion, but if you can give me a hint if you have experience in the area that would be great )

Mike

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Greig
Australia
Kelso
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
games workshop is well known for for being very aggressive in any and all legal action in protection of their IP, (correctly or incorrectly)

so even if this would be ok normally i'd advise staying well away from selling anything based on anything from gamesworkshop
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Boaty McBoatface
England
County of Essex
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
GW are trademark and copyright trolls, and they have a habit of not telling you until the summons appears.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew H
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb