Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Wilderness War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Land movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I need to clarify rule 6.2. We know that drilled troops moving alone and passing thru' a wilderness space stop in the next space, but "spaces that have friendly fortifications do not count..."

So if I have British drilled troops trying to get from Schenectady to Oswego, they would normally be able to pass thru' Canajoharie and stop in Oneida Carry E. But if there's a fortification in Oneida Carry E., does it reset the count to zero? In other words, can the drilled troops, having reached the fortification, now continue thru' Oneida Carry W. and stop in Oswego?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. The fortification must be in the Wilderness space to negate it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dirubin wrote:
No. The fortification must be in the Wilderness space to negate it.


But it is. OC East is a Wilderness space.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OC East does not matter; even if it were Cultivated, the British would have to stop there. It is not OC East that is stopping them - it is Canajoharie.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So you're saying that whether OC East has a fortification or not, the drilled troops moving out of Schenectady would have to stop there because there's no fortification in Canajoharie.

And presumably, if there were fortifications in both Canajoharie and OC East, they would be able to continue to OC West and stop there.

Sorry to belabor this, but evidently I have an erroneous interpretation of the wilderness limitation rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
"It may be doubted whether so small a number of men ever employed so short a space of time with greater or more lasting effects upon the history of the world.” — Sir George Otto Trevelyan on the Battles of Trenton and Princeton
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cstimpson wrote:
So you're saying that whether OC East has a fortification or not, the drilled troops moving out of Schenectady would have to stop there because there's no fortification in Canajoharie.


Yes.

Quote:
And presumably, if there were fortifications in both Canajoharie and OC East, they would be able to continue to OC West and stop there.


Yes. They would stop because they had exhausted their movement allowance from Schenectady -- OCW being unfortified Wilderness would not stop them until Oswego.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.