Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tie Defender Rexler Brath and heavy laser cannon? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
CapeCod Gamer
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Heavy laser cannon says after rolling your attack dice, change all critical hits to normal hits.

Rexler Braths ability says if you deal at least one damage to the defender, you can spend a focus to turn those cards face up.


Can you choose what way these resolve so you can get crits?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johannes Haglund
Sweden
Göteborg
Västra Götaland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
These two abilities does not trigger at the same time. HLC changes the dice you roll, Rexler changes the cards you deal.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Frankysan is correct, Rexler and HLC are a very effective combination
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Kraft
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just add opportunist and you are set.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seraph TC
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
KenM wrote:
Heavy laser cannon says after rolling your attack dice, change all critical hits to normal hits.

Rexler Braths ability says if you deal at least one damage to the defender, you can spend a focus to turn those cards face up.


Can you choose what way these resolve so you can get crits?



To answer your question for other scenarios:

You alter the cannon dice *immediately* after they are rolled, before dice modifications.

For example, HLC + Marksmanship. You roll the dice, get a crit, a hit and 2x focus. You change the crit to a hit, for 2x hits and 2x focus. Then you modify the dice from Marksmanship to change one of the focus results to a crit, and the other to a hit, for a total of 1x crit and 3x hits.

Or, Mercenary Co-Pilot with HLC. You change any crits rolled to hits, then (at range 3) you change a hit to a crit due to Mercenary Co-Pilot.

An even more common example - Target Lock with HLC. You roll the dice, change any crits to hits. Then you spend the target lock to re-roll several die. If any of the re-rolled die score crits, they are NOT changed to hits.

The HLC doesn't mean you can score crits at all - it just makes it less likely.

(See page 9 of the FAQ for exact wording).
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan Hall
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Also, to clarify, Rexler Brath's ability is not dealing critical hits. His ability, if you choose to activate it by spending a focus, is simply flipping damage cards that have already been assigned to the target face up. This is important not only for the HLC, but also for skills like Chewbacca's YT-1300 pilot ability, or the Determination upgrade, which are bypassed by this since as they are never dealt.
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.