1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

Go» Forums » General

Subject: Guess what! Newbie seeking advice! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike James
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just started playing GO last night. I downloaded a nice little app on my phone, and I am pleased to report that I am getting my ass handed to me...by the level 1 AI.

Please, don't misunderstand me. I don't mean this in a negative way. In fact, I'm rather enjoying myself. I lose a game and have no idea why. I win a game and I am equally baffled. I am beginning to see some patterns form, and some things to watch for.

I started on the 9x9 board, thinking it would be easier to learn on. I guess it is, but it feels so claustraphobic. Is this natural to feel?

I have a question regarding score keeping. On the app, it has tthis weird system with half points. How do you get a half point? Also, when I add up the final score, it NEVER equals a difference of 96.5. What's the deal here?

Any help would be, well, helpful.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Di Ponio
United States
Lake Orion
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I highly suggest picking up a guide to go. Here is a good one to start with:

http://www.amazon.com/Go-Beginners-Kaoru-Iwamoto/dp/03947333...

The book is pretty cheap and will get your understanding of GO into your head.

Is the game hard to learn? No, certainly not. There are only a few rules to get down and after that, the board is your canvas. I am not saying I am great at Go, but I do enjoy the game and was helped out quite a bit with guides like the one listed.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karan R
India
Mumbai
flag msg tools
It's Karan, not Karen!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Step 1: http://playgo.to/iwtg/en/
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Billy McBoatface
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
KGS is the #1 web site for playing go over the internet. Visit now!
badge
Yes, I really am that awesome.
mbmbmbmbmb