Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Rattus» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dracula rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Walker
United Kingdom
London
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
How is the holder of Dracula get points? The player who has the most 'undead' on the card gets 4 points, but what about the (current) Count himself?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The holder gets no points. The holder only "gets" to be immune from the negative effects.

Note that it is the player with the FEWEST 'undead' that gets 4 points, not the one with the most.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Duly
Canada
Langley
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Dracula?

Is that a role in the game? I haven't seen that one before?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Walker
United Kingdom
London
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmb
Scott: thanks, I'm aware it's the least. What I find confusing is that the description states that "Count Dracula gets extra points for killing other players".

The Dracula roll card come with the Bonus pack.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L. Scott Johnson
United States
Columbia
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah. That phrasing comes, I assume, from some marketing guy. It sort of summarizes the gist of the power, but, as with the rest of the red text descriptions, occupies no standing other than "flavor text".

The actual rule description details how that "get points" thing actually plays out: kill other players; get points for being killed the least.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell Howell                (What's Right?) (What's Wrong?)        
United States
Canoga Park
California
flag msg tools
Brought to you by Zik Zak
badge
Brought to you by Zik Zak
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
EvanDevan wrote:
Dracula?

Is that a role in the game? I haven't seen that one before?


It is not in the base game. This question (thread) would probably be better positioned in the Rattus: Essen 2010 Bonus Rules thread, but would surely have gotten less of a rapid response, and now you know about another cool role.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ltn Koen
France
flag msg tools
mbmb
badgeguy wrote:
It is not in the base game. This question (thread) would probably be better positioned in the Rattus: Essen 2010 Bonus Rules thread, but would surely have gotten less of a rapid response, and now you know about another cool role.
About that, can we hope to get an official ruling on the question: Rules question about Dracula and ending the game ?

Dracula is the only class card that allows to definitely eliminate cubes from the game. Normally, when cubes are killed, they are just returned to their owners' respective supplies.

Is the end-game triggered when a Player no longer has cubes in their supply, but has dead cubes on the Dracula class card? On the one hand, it feels wrong that a player (or several players, or all players) would have to continue playing even though they no longer have cubes to place during phase B. On the other hand, it feels a bit weird that a Player might trigger the end of the game even though they have less than twenty "alive" cubes.

In particular, if game end is triggered as soon as a player no longer has cubes in their supplies, then in some occasions it might be better for the player owning the Dracula card to choose not to use the Dracula power, so as to avoid triggering game end.

The way the rules are written, this does not seem to be allowed: it reads "cubes belonging to other players that are killed are placed on this card", as opposed to "may be placed on this card". However, this would be the only class card whose power is mandatory, which would be a bit surprising.

So, this brings the disambiguation question: if a player owns the Dracula class card, do they have to use its power, or can they choose not to?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.