Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Mousquetaires du Roy» Forums » Rules

Subject: How does the "2-shields" adversary token work? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Phil Hannay
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For some of the adversary tokens, there is a predetermined result:

Quote:
The adversaries’ result is predetermined. When confronting the
Musketeers, this adversary’s attack is indicated on the token. In the
event of a draw, the opponent does not “lose a die,” i.e., if the duel
lasts a second round (or longer), the result is exactly the same as
before.


How do this work for the 2 shield token?

The Musketeer will either roll more than 2 swords and win, or not. If they don't, then it's a draw. They don't lose a die, so they just roll the same again ad infinitum until they do roll more than 2 swords.

So how is this not just an automatic win? What value does it have?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Rutter
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The opponent does not “lose a die" but the musketeer still does.

With the two shields die as soon as the musketeer drops to 2 dice you know it will be a draw and they have wasted an action.

Three swords (or a special technique) is the only way to best the tile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Hannay
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, thanks. I was reading "the opponent" as the opponent of the adversary (I was playing M'lady). I think it should probably say "the adversary" for consistency in the rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom cap
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"2 shields" is a nasty opponent.
Best used on stage 3 of the quest imho
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.