Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Caverna: The Cave Farmers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Urgent wish for children rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
László Horváth
Hungary
Veszprém
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello!

The "Urgent wish for children" tells: Furnish a Dwelling, AND THEN [family growth].

Is the familiy growth action mandatory if I choosae to furnish a dwelling? I'm not sure if it makes sense to fortfeit the family growth, but is it legal?

(e.g. You might have not enough food to feed the newborn, just want a 3VP dwelling)

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Zalizniak
United States
Cheektowaga
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope..you must make the baby.

kiss

Pucker up buttercup
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamie D.
United States
Okemos
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rules, page 9:

Quote:
There are two Action spaces that have a mandatory primary action and an optional follow-up action (“and then”). In case of the “Urgent wish for children” Action space, you have to use the first action in order to use the second one at all.


So you are legal.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Appendix is very explicit (note use of the word "may"):
Quote:
Urgent wish for children: You may either build a Dwelling on an empty Cavern by paying its building costs or take 3 Gold from the general supply. If you do the former, you may then carry out a Family growth action. (You may not grow your family on this Action space unless you use the first action to build a Dwelling.)


Earlier, the Appendix says the following about "and then":
Quote:
and then
You must carry out the first action. Only afterwards you may (but do not need to) carry out the second action. You may not carry out the second action without carrying out the first one first. We use “and then” instead of a simple “and” to indicate that the actions are not carried out at the same time but one after another.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.