Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Wiz-War (eighth edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 newbie questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Manu
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
I am not a cyborg!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I couldn't find a rule that prevents either of these, but just to be sure:

1. If a wall is created in front of a portal, can you attempt to damage the wall from the other portal entrance? (in other words, can you cast spells that require LoS across portals?)

2. Can you boost counter spells?

Thanks!

ps: am hoping to have my first play tonight.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Daneman
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
supamanu wrote:
I couldn't find a rule that prevents either of these, but just to be sure:

1. If a wall is created in front of a portal, can you attempt to damage the wall from the other portal entrance? (in other words, can you cast spells that require LoS across portals?)


Yes. The two squares connected by a portal are treated as adjacent for all practical purposes.

Quote:

2. Can you boost counter spells?


Yes, as long as the spell explicitly allows it.

Quote:

Thanks!

ps: am hoping to have my first play tonight.




Have fun playing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manu
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
I am not a cyborg!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
First play was had, and much fun along with it.

One thing that came up multiple times was whether using an item to attack (e.g. boomstone) still allowed you to cast an attack spell in the same turn. I would say yes?

Also, if I carried e.g 2 boomstones, could I throw + throw + cast spell in the same round? I would also say yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julia
msg tools
designer
We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
badge
Amor, sola lex
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope.

You can attack in the following ways:

- by casting an attack spell
- by using an object allowing you to perform an attack
- by punching your target

you cannot perform more than one attack / turn unless you're using a spell allowing to perform multiple attacks (like Adrenaline)

If you look at Boomstone's wording, it's stated that you "may throw Boomstone as an attack", hence it counts against the number of attacks / turn you're entitled to do (which, as said, is one, unless some very special circumstances)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Manu
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
I am not a cyborg!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ah, ok, thanks Julia. back to square one using the correct rules this time
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.