Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Jeffrey
Canada
Surrey
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have just completed my first, rough, hand made prototype. I was looking for some feedback and suggestions. I'll post the play cards and objective cards when I get on the computer and make them. Just know I am not an artist or graphic designer.

This is my first WIP post, and the second game I've designed. The inspiration for this game came from my wife's love for Jaipur, Takenoko and Ticket to Ride. My idea was to make a set collection card game with the addition of hidden objectives.

My initial idea was seashell collection, which then became a robot junkyard theme. I didn't feel either theme was satisfying, so I went basic which became:

ZAHLENFELD

Players: 2
Time: Approx. 30 min.

AIM
At the end of each round the player with the higher objective point total receives a Star. The first player to collect 2 Stars wins the game.

COMPONENTS
54 cards - Number Deck
23 cards - Objective Deck
3 cards - Stars
1 card - 7 Bonus Points
1 rule book

NUMBER DECK
The Number Deck consists of 49 cards, in 3 suits (Circles, Triangles, Hexagons) of with varying numbers of 1 through 6. There are also 5 zero (0) cards.

1 - 11 cards (6-3-2)
2 - 9 cards (4-3-2)
3 - 9 cards (4-3-2)
4 - 7 cards (3-2-2)
5 - 7 cards (3-2-2)
6 - 6 cards (3-2-1)
0 - 5 cards

OBJECTIVE DECK
The Objective Deck consists of 23 cards which show a point value, and the card requirement needed to complete the objective.

SETUP
1) Remove the 5 zero cards from the Number Deck.
2) Shuffle the Number Deck.
3) Layout 9 cards from the Number Deck in a 3x3 grid, face up on the table. This is referred to as the Zahlenfeld.
4) Deal 4 number cards to each player.
5) Shuffle the zero cards back into the Number Deck.
6) Shuffle the Objective Deck, and deal 5 cards to each player. Each player chooses 2 objective cards and discards the rest.
7) Set the Star and Bonus cards aside.
8) Choose a starting player.