Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Takenoko» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rain and fertilizer rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick Albright
United States
Fort Leavenworth
Kansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I roll a "rain" on the weather die and then apply it to a plot with a "fertilizer" improvement do I then grow the bamboo by two or one?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Agnieszka
Poland
Warsaw
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
by two
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Monsen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
from the rules:

RAIN
The player may place a Bamboo section on the irrigated plot of his choice, up to a limit of four sections per plot.

-and-

FERTILIZER
Fertilizer increases the growth of bamboo on its plot. Each time the bamboo grows, two sections are added instead of one (subject to the
usual 4 sections maximum).



Seems pretty clear to me.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Albright
United States
Fort Leavenworth
Kansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the fast response and quick words.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 Lucky Texan
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MunchWolf wrote:
from the rules:

RAIN
The player may place a Bamboo section on the irrigated plot of his choice, up to a limit of four sections per plot.

-and-

FERTILIZER
Fertilizer increases the growth of bamboo on its plot. Each time the bamboo grows, two sections are added instead of one (subject to the
usual 4 sections maximum).



Seems pretty clear to me.


It seems to me in this instance, you either place 2 bamboo, or could choose not to place any bamboo. ('ignore' the rain? ,unlikely sure, but use of *may* seems to allow the choice of no placement?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Monsen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 Lucky Texan wrote:


It seems to me in this instance, you either place 2 bamboo, or could choose not to place any bamboo. ('ignore' the rain? ,unlikely sure, but use of *may* seems to allow the choice of no placement?)


That was not the question
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MunchWolf wrote:
from the rules:

RAIN
The player may place a Bamboo section on the irrigated plot of his choice, up to a limit of four sections per plot.

-and-

FERTILIZER
Fertilizer increases the growth of bamboo on its plot. Each time the bamboo grows, two sections are added instead of one (subject to the
usual 4 sections maximum).



Seems pretty clear to me.


Not quite as clear as it would be if the rain rule said to grow a bamboo section rather than place it - in some games, the verb being different would mean the bonus didn't apply...

I'm firmly in the "two sections" camp, but I can see an argument the other way.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.