Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Marvel Dice Masters: Avengers vs. X-Men» Forums » Rules

Subject: Magneto Holocaust Survivor and his Global rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kat Farmer
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
We've had this come up more than once and there isn't anything in the FaQ or Rules we can use to determine an answer. It refers to the Global on Magneto Holocaust Survivor which says:

Magneto Holocaust Survivor
While Magneto is active, you may pay 2 energy to spin a Villain up one level.
Global: Pay (MASK) to reroll a Villain die.

You have one Magneto Holocaust Survivor die. You draw it and roll it along with three Sidekick dice. You roll one mask, one fist, one shield, and on the Magneto die you roll his Level 1.

1. Is Magneto considered a Villain die while in the reserve pool?

2. If so, can you use Magneto's Global ability to reroll his die while in the reserve pool?

3. If yes to the above, if he were to land on his two Mask side, can you spin him down to one Mask and then reroll his die while in the reserve pool?

His Global is the only thing we are having an issue with here. Most of us say that Magneto is a Villain die in the reserve pool. This means, you should be able to reroll him with a mask. Using that interpretation, we assume that since you can spin characters down to a single energy (if the side with 2 energy is rolled), we also assume you can spend one of the two to reroll him. This seems incredibly broken if this is how it works.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will B.
United States
Visalia
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Characters in the reserve pool are not active. They have to be fielded to be active.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
You can't handle the truth?
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DyerKitty wrote:
We've had this come up more than once and there isn't anything in the FaQ or Rules we can use to determine an answer. It refers to the Global on Magneto Holocaust Survivor which says:

Magneto Holocaust Survivor
While Magneto is active, you may pay 2 energy to spin a Villain up one level.
Global: Pay (MASK) to reroll a Villain die.

You have one Magneto Holocaust Survivor die. You draw it and roll it along with three Sidekick dice. You roll one mask, one fist, one shield, and on the Magneto die you roll his Level 1.

1. Is Magneto considered a Villain die while in the reserve pool?

2. If so, can you use Magneto's Global ability to reroll his die while in the reserve pool?

3. If yes to the above, if he were to land on his two Mask side, can you spin him down to one Mask and then reroll his die while in the reserve pool?

His Global is the only thing we are having an issue with here. Most of us say that Magneto is a Villain die in the reserve pool. This means, you should be able to reroll him with a mask. Using that interpretation, we assume that since you can spin characters down to a single energy (if the side with 2 energy is rolled), we also assume you can spend one of the two to reroll him. This seems incredibly broken if this is how it works.

1 - No, dice in the reserve pool cannot be target by game abilities, unless specifically stated.

Quote:
Unless otherwise stated, game effects can only target character dice that are in the field.


Therefore, 2 & 3 don't apply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kat Farmer
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
crambaza wrote:
DyerKitty wrote:
We've had this come up more than once and there isn't anything in the FaQ or Rules we can use to determine an answer. It refers to the Global on Magneto Holocaust Survivor which says:

Magneto Holocaust Survivor
While Magneto is active, you may pay 2 energy to spin a Villain up one level.
Global: Pay (MASK) to reroll a Villain die.

You have one Magneto Holocaust Survivor die. You draw it and roll it along with three Sidekick dice. You roll one mask, one fist, one shield, and on the Magneto die you roll his Level 1.

1. Is Magneto considered a Villain die while in the reserve pool?

2. If so, can you use Magneto's Global ability to reroll his die while in the reserve pool?

3. If yes to the above, if he were to land on his two Mask side, can you spin him down to one Mask and then reroll his die while in the reserve pool?

His Global is the only thing we are having an issue with here. Most of us say that Magneto is a Villain die in the reserve pool. This means, you should be able to reroll him with a mask. Using that interpretation, we assume that since you can spin characters down to a single energy (if the side with 2 energy is rolled), we also assume you can spend one of the two to reroll him. This seems incredibly broken if this is how it works.

1 - No, dice in the reserve pool cannot be target by game abilities, unless specifically stated.

Quote:
Unless otherwise stated, game effects can only target character dice that are in the field.


Therefore, 2 & 3 don't apply.


Thank you for the quick response! That certainly clears things up. Where did you find that so I can reference it to the other players?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
You can't handle the truth?
Canada
Edmonton
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DyerKitty wrote:
crambaza wrote:
DyerKitty wrote:
We've had this come up more than once and there isn't anything in the FaQ or Rules we can use to determine an answer. It refers to the Global on Magneto Holocaust Survivor which says:

Magneto Holocaust Survivor
While Magneto is active, you may pay 2 energy to spin a Villain up one level.
Global: Pay (MASK) to reroll a Villain die.

You have one Magneto Holocaust Survivor die. You draw it and roll it along with three Sidekick dice. You roll one mask, one fist, one shield, and on the Magneto die you roll his Level 1.

1. Is Magneto considered a Villain die while in the reserve pool?

2. If so, can you use Magneto's Global ability to reroll his die while in the reserve pool?

3. If yes to the above, if he were to land on his two Mask side, can you spin him down to one Mask and then reroll his die while in the reserve pool?

His Global is the only thing we are having an issue with here. Most of us say that Magneto is a Villain die in the reserve pool. This means, you should be able to reroll him with a mask. Using that interpretation, we assume that since you can spin characters down to a single energy (if the side with 2 energy is rolled), we also assume you can spend one of the two to reroll him. This seems incredibly broken if this is how it works.

1 - No, dice in the reserve pool cannot be target by game abilities, unless specifically stated.

Quote:
Unless otherwise stated, game effects can only target character dice that are in the field.


Therefore, 2 & 3 don't apply.


Thank you for the quick response! That certainly clears things up. Where did you find that so I can reference it to the other players?
Page 19, near the top, in the "Fundamental Rules" section.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kat Farmer
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Thank you! :3
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kat Farmer
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Hate to repost on such an old post, but apparently you can re-roll villains in the reserve pool.

http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1803&h...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul K.
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DyerKitty wrote:
Hate to repost on such an old post, but apparently you can re-roll villains in the reserve pool.

http://wizkidseventsystem.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=1803&h...


However, it is stated very clearly in the UXM and BFF rulebooks that you can't Reroll dice that have already been spun down. So #3 above wouldn't work.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.