Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Lifeboat» Forums » Rules

Subject: question on exposing your hand rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Darryl Revok
United States
Rescue
CA
flag msg tools
badge
(chance is the fool's name for fate)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state that you can not reveal your love/hate cards, but there is no mention about your hand. Can a player reveal a card to someone else without actually playing it (thus making it face-up)?

e.g. player A declares a mugging on player B holding 1 card; player B tries to convince player C that if player A gets a certain card, player A will win, and therefore player C needs to support player B in a fight; player C balks at this and demands to privately see this 'critical' card.

can player B show player C his hand at this point without actually playing the card? if yes, does player A have the right to peek too?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Siadek
United States
Hawthorne
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can show a card to one person only by handing it to them. They are under no obligation to hand it back.

Also, you may lie about cards in a trade if they are face down. Any trade where cards change hands for both sides, the cards go across (you can't back out after getting your card) but you might be surprised in what you get.

If you turn cards face up before the trade, there is no tricking allowed but the cards remain face up.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darryl Revok
United States
Rescue
CA
flag msg tools
badge
(chance is the fool's name for fate)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ourhero wrote:
You can show a card to one person only by handing it to them. They are under no obligation to hand it back.


ok, so the short answer is no - you can't merely expose cards in your hand to others.

in order to share info, you need to play within the bounds of the trading mechanism. wow, this seems like something that should be clarified in the rules .. as this seems like a natural progression when courting others to support you in a fight.

also, i'm assuming it's ok to engage in trading before a fight is accepted but after a mugging has been declared :
Negotiations for assistance are possible but no cards may
change hands until after the fight and deals need not be honored.


love the game and thank you for your response. much appreciated!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pat Connolly
United States
Zephyrhills
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
flowtron wrote:
ourhero wrote:
You can show a card to one person only by handing it to them. They are under no obligation to hand it back.


Negotiations for assistance are possible but no cards may
change hands until after the fight and deals need not be honored.



So what does that mean about showing someone a card by handing it to them after a fight has been declared? It sounds like you can't because that's a card changing hands, even if only temporarily?

But it does sound like you can turn a card face up for everyone to see, in effect saying "lookee here, I have a ??? and I'm not afraid to use it." But then that sets you up for others to try to take it from you. I assume that once turned face up the card remains face up since everyone knows where it is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darryl Revok
United States
Rescue
CA
flag msg tools
badge
(chance is the fool's name for fate)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
no cards are exchanged after a fight has been declared, the exchanging would take place after a mugging is declared and during negotiations for assistance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.