Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Labyrinth: The War on Terror, 2001 – ?» Forums » Rules

Subject: More than 1 Cadre in a country rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dampenon Fabien
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Rookies talk about strategy, Grognards about Logistics
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

I have read some interesting threads about this question and it seems it's not possible to have more than one cadre in a country, even if I haven't found explicitly anything in 4.8.4 about it.

However, if a country with a cadre is selected when playing Jihadist Videos (possible because we must select a country without cell, and a cadre isn't a cell) and if recruit fails...should we place another cadre ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phillip Edwards
United States
Carrollton
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't believe so. A cadre marker is to show that a cell has been there before for the purposes of the recruit action.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Hague
United Kingdom
Bristol
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
RAWKET LAWNCHA!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also: don't forget that the US can gain 1 prestige if they disrupt a cadre in a country that also has troops present. Can sometimes provide a handy boost to US GWOT ops.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don't Blink
Australia
Brisbane
QLD
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
you only place a cadre marker If a country does not have a cadre marker, and you meet the other requirements of placing a cadre marker. You cannot have two.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PC Principal
Finland
Joensuu
flag msg tools
TRIGGERED!
badge
SOCAIL JUSTIEC!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is possible to have more than one cadre in a country.

Quote:
4.8.4 Cadre Markers. Keep cadre markers near the map. Whenever the last cell in a country without a cadre is removed by Disrupt (7.4) or event (not Jihad or Travel, 8.3-8.4), place a cadre there. Cadres enable Recruiting (8.2.2). Whenever a cell is placed from the Funding track into a country with a cadre, remove the cadre. The Jihadist player may remove any cadres during any Jihadist Action Phase.


Example. The US Disrupts the last cell in a country, a cadre is placed. Another cells Travel into the country, which the US again Disrupts. Another cadre is placed.

Recruit, for example, removes cadres.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Jones
United States
Leland
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zelroy wrote:
It is possible to have more than one cadre in a country.

Quote:
4.8.4 Cadre Markers. Keep cadre markers near the map. Whenever the last cell in a country without a cadre is removed by Disrupt (7.4) or event (not Jihad or Travel, 8.3-8.4), place a cadre there. Cadres enable Recruiting (8.2.2). Whenever a cell is placed from the Funding track into a country with a cadre, remove the cadre. The Jihadist player may remove any cadres during any Jihadist Action Phase.


Example. The US Disrupts the last cell in a country, a cadre is placed. Another cells Travel into the country, which the US again Disrupts. Another cadre is placed.

Recruit, for example, removes cadres.


Key word is without a cadre, so in your example you would NOT add another cadre. Only one cadre is placed in a country/region at a time.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PC Principal
Finland
Joensuu
flag msg tools
TRIGGERED!
badge
SOCAIL JUSTIEC!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
True!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Kiefte
Canada
Dartmouth
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sage345 wrote:


Key word is without a cadre, so in your example you would NOT add another cadre. Only one cadre is placed in a country/region at a time.


Actually, his example states
Quote:
However, if a country with a cadre is selected when playing Jihadist Videos (possible because we must select a country without cell, and a cadre isn't a cell) and if recruit fails...should we place another cadre ?

so the rule doesn't apply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Swan
Australia
Randwick
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dampenon wrote:
I have read some interesting threads about this question

Do you have the URLs, please? Maybe they contain an answer from the designer or developer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.