Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lucas Maciel
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi people, I'll try to make it short. I often catch myself wondering about some different game mechanics. However, I am no designer and actually quite new to the hobby. Cooperative games are usually my favorite, but some mechanics seem impossible or very difficult to implement in a cooperative game. So I want to know what you think about two of them:

Challenge #1:
A mechanic where knowing information always means worsening your decision-making. What I mean is: if there was a game mechanic that would make players avoid revealing their hidden information for the greater good, there would be possible to have bluffing, guessing, etc. in a cooperative game. However, I cannot think of any scenario where the decisions made with complete access to all information are always worse than decisions based on hidden information. Really, I'm pretty convinced it's philosophically or metaphysically impossible, but who knows.

PS: It cannot be a mechanic where knowing information ruins the fun (like Hanabi) but not the decisions or it forces, through rules, some penalty.

Challenge #2:
A mechanic that allows cooperative drafting, not completely luck-based. I believe that the 7 Wonders or Among the Stars 2-player variations are close to what could be a cooperative drafting. However, the dummy drafting depends too heavily on pure luck, if you are trying to send a specific card to your partner. Anwyays, it doesn't sound very fun as well. So that's the second challenge, to design a fun and engaging cooperative drafting mechanic.

If any of this has been designed already, I'd love to know what games implement some of this. Otherwise, there might be some really fun stuff yet to come to cooperative games.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 Lucky Texan
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
interesting