Subject: Confused by all the Banter rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
tom glass
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I am new to Kremlin. It is a game I have long been interested in playing but until the newest reprint never felt like handing over the sums of cash people were selling this game for.

That said, I am confused by all the discussion over errata and version rules. At this point the forums read well for established players but are confusing for those new to the game (or maybe just me).

From what I gather a number of people prefer the AH rules to any other, and it is possible to play those rules with the new edition. My questions:

1) If I choose to play the AH version of the rules with my JRG edition what components do I need to remove from those in the box(if any)?

2) Are the basic game rules and advanced game rules in the file section the AH rules? and are they immediately transferable?

3) What, if anything, do I need to ignore on the board/player aids?

4) Which influence pad do i use?

Thank you....
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T. Dauphin
Canada
Belleville
Ontario
flag msg tools
Yes the versions in the files are the AH rules.
And as I don't own a copy of the new one, that's all I can say with confidence.

My understanding is that the game can be played by the AH rules with little or no physical alterations, but I'll let someone with a more intimate knowledge of the new one confirm that for you.

Lots of people really like the Fata Morgana rules, and these vary only slightly from AH. It might be worth a look.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark J
United States
St. Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
eh, I wouldn't say they vary slightly. The way you win the game is significantly different and alters the way you approach the game.

I'm glad you're giving Kremlin a try.