Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Unconditional Surrender! World War 2 in Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Air Interception on Naval Transport/Rebase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ducoulombier Romain
France
Dunkirk
flag msg tools
Hi
A French Convoy escorted by the French Fleet transports a unit from Algiers to Marseille. Can an Italian Fighter in Genoa intercept it in the Marseille Port hex ?
When a naval rebase is successfully interdicted, do fleets return to their initial location port ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Enrico Catanzaro
Italy
Palermo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Romain1976 wrote:
Hi
A French Convoy escorted by the French Fleet transports a unit from Algiers to Marseille. Can an Italian Fighter in Genoa intercept it in the Marseille Port hex ?
When a naval rebase is successfully interdicted, do fleets return to their initial location port ?


yes, the interception is possible since the Italian air unit is in range (6.2.5.2).

if the interdiction is successfull (note that interception is automatic) the naval unit (and any naval escort) move to the nearest friendly port. See the example under 5.2.1.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Salvatore Vasta
United States
Woodstock
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ecz67 wrote:
Romain1976 wrote:
Hi
A French Convoy escorted by the French Fleet transports a unit from Algiers to Marseille. Can an Italian Fighter in Genoa intercept it in the Marseille Port hex ?
When a naval rebase is successfully interdicted, do fleets return to their initial location port ?


yes, the interception is possible since the Italian air unit is in range (6.2.5.2).

if the interdiction is successfull (note that interception is automatic) the naval unit (and any naval escort) move to the nearest friendly port. See the example under 5.2.1.


In this particular situation (i.e. a Naval Rebase rather than an Amphibious Invasion), it depends on which Sea Zones the French naval units move into.

If the French navy moves through Sea Zone 17 and into SZ 18, the Italian air unit cannot intercept because it is in SZ 20. If the French navy moves through SZ 17, 19, and 20, then the Italian air can intercept in SZ 20.

A Naval Rebase is intercepted in a Sea Zone, not a specific hex. It is true that Marseilles is in SZ 18 and 20. However, if the movement is into SZ 18, an enemy air unit in SZ 20 cannot intercept it. That would be the case even if the Italian air unit was one hex east of Marseilles in hex 3818.

It was designed this way to keep the rules simpler and force players to put air units in the specific SZ they want to protect (or an adjacent SZ if using a naval unit to intercept).

If it was an Amphibious Invasion into Marseilles, the Italian air unit could intercept in the hex itself. This is an exception, but the enemy faction is also under the limitation that it can only intercept once in either that SZ or the hex. It was designed this way to keep an invading player from feeling they could invade free of interception if the defending faction did not have an air unit in a coastal hex. Generals were always worried about enemy air power when conducting amphibious invasions.

Enrico's point about successful interdiction is correct. Because of this, a new player may not realize that even if an interdiction is successful, they may still be able to go to the port they wanted to move to.

Using this Algiers to Marseilles Rebase as an example, if the French Navy was successfully interdicted in SZ 20, the nearest friendly ports are in SZ 20. They are Ajaccio and Marseilles. Therefore, the French navy could end its movement in Marseilles, which is what the Western player wanted in the first place. This is an example of the naval forces being close enough to their final destination that they can fight their way through the interception.

Sal
4 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Enrico Catanzaro
Italy
Palermo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
svasta wrote:

In this particular situation (i.e. a Naval Rebase rather than an Amphibious Invasion), it depends on which Sea Zones the French naval units move into.

If the French navy moves through Sea Zone 17 and into SZ 18, the Italian air unit cannot intercept because it is in SZ 20. If the French navy moves through SZ 17, 19, and 20, then the Italian air can intercept in SZ 20.

A Naval Rebase is intercepted in a Sea Zone, not a specific hex. It is true that Marseilles is in SZ 18 and 20. However, if the movement is into SZ 18, an enemy air unit in SZ 20 cannot intercept it. That would be the case even if the Italian air unit was one hex east of Marseilles in hex 3818.

It was designed this way to keep the rules simpler and force players to put air units in the specific SZ they want to protect (or an adjacent SZ if using a naval unit to intercept).

If it was an Amphibious Invasion into Marseilles, the Italian air unit could intercept in the hex itself. This is an exception, but the enemy faction is also under the limitation that it can only intercept once in either that SZ or the hex. It was designed this way to keep an invading player from feeling they could invade free of interception if the defending faction did not have an air unit in a coastal hex. Generals were always worried about enemy air power when conducting amphibious invasions. (...)


Sal


ah!
a thing we did not noticed yet. (we have played the first two scenarios only).
This means that an Italian fleet rebasing to Palermo, a three SZ port, can be intercepted by an Allied air unit in Malta or Catania only if the naval force moves through SZ 22.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Salvatore Vasta
United States
Woodstock
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ecz67 wrote:

ah!
a thing we did not noticed yet. (we have played the first two scenarios only).
This means that an Italian fleet rebasing to Palermo, a three SZ port, can be intercepted by an Allied air unit in Malta or Catania only if the naval force moves through SZ 22.



That is correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.