Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Russian Railroads» Forums » Rules

Subject: Use of extra black worker rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ed G
msg tools
mb
For extra black worker face up card, the rules state "Furthermore, each time you use the black worker on an action space that grants at least one black rail advancement, you get an extra black rail advancement."

Would this apply to rail the advancement spaces with question marks that allow you to advance any track?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
My favorite 18xx game for six players is two games of 1846 with three players each.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, as long as you use that space to get at least one back track advancement.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Leitner
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The wording is confusing, but this issue has been clarified in another thread by one (or both, I don't remember) of the game's authors.

You get the extra black track movement only if you actually use black track movement from a space which either explicitly grants black track movement, or gives you the option to move black track.

The way it's worded, it would appear that you can take the move black track bonus just for using a space which has the black track symbol on it, but that is not the case.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
MDJD wrote:
The way it's worded, it would appear that you can take the move black track bonus just for using a space which has the black track symbol on it, but that is not the case.


It's the subtlety of saying "that grants" rather than "that could grant" - you could interpret it as "a space that [sometimes] grants" or as "a space that [in this activation] grants" - the latter being the intended reading.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T S
Canada
Vancouver
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
"Each time you use the black worker ON an action space that GRANTS you at least 1 black rail advancement, you get an EXTRA black rail advancement."

Seems pretty clear to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
vfxtrev wrote:
"Each time you use the black worker ON an action space that GRANTS you at least 1 black rail advancement, you get an EXTRA black rail advancement."

Seems pretty clear to me.


If you think it's completely unambiguous, try listing every "action space that grants you at least 1 black rail advancement".

No matter what list you end up with, either there will be spaces on the list where you can use the black worker without getting an extra black rail advancement, or there will be spaces not on the list where you can use the black worker and get an extra black rail advancement.

Yes, the word "extra" suggests that you need to be getting at least one black track advance anyway, but it doesn't strictly imply it.

The rule as written could validly be read as "each time you use the black worker on an action space that has the potential to advance a black rail at least once, you get a free black rail advancement" rather than the intended "each time you use the black worker on an action space that, this time, grants you at least one black rail advancement, get an additional black rail advancement"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.