Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Race! Formula 90» Forums » Rules

Subject: Target Checks and "Cards from your Hand" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Darrell Hanning
United States
Jacksonville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
We will meet at the Hour of Scampering.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alessandro, a question has come up for me on which I'd like some clarification.

On page 8 of the English rules, it states:

The card used to “check” could be:
- One of the cards used for moving in the turn (it could even
be the same card requiring the check)
- Any other card from the player hand
- A card drawn from the Race Cards deck (this way of checking
is called Blind Check to indicate that the player has no control
on the final result of his check).


However, for Leader Lapping, on page 11, it states:

The Leader cannot voluntarily refuse this check if he has
enough movement points to lap the car in front. However
he may decide to attempt a Blind Check if he does not want
to use cards from his hand. In any case the card drawn to
perform the Blind Check must replace the Target Check on
the Car Chart.


Does that (by its omission) mean that the player cannot use a card used for movement, in order to conduct the lapping check?

The same question arises for going off track, in the advanced rules, on page 18, where it states:

If it is a player he can use a card from his
hand to pass this check or do a blind check.


Does this mean that a card just played for movement cannot be used?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Lala
United Kingdom
Weston-Super-Mare
Somerset
flag msg tools
designer
If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough.
badge
Being second is to be the first of the ones who lose.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, this is correct.
The card you use for checking for the leader lapping and for managing the car off track is not the card used for movement.
The concept here is that in both cases (leader lapping, recovering from off track) the player has to get a penalty (discarding a card or trying his luck). Checks for movement are not necessarily a malus for the player and he can use the same cards used for movement for resolving his movement checks.

Hope it makes sense.
Alessandro
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Lala
United Kingdom
Weston-Super-Mare
Somerset
flag msg tools
designer
If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough.
badge
Being second is to be the first of the ones who lose.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And this is also described in the table at the bottom of page 8
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Hanning
United States
Jacksonville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
We will meet at the Hour of Scampering.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mea culpa.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Lala
United Kingdom
Weston-Super-Mare
Somerset
flag msg tools
designer
If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough.
badge
Being second is to be the first of the ones who lose.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No worries.
Rules are not totally clear on this point and in general, I am always happy to offer any clarification needed.
Alessandro
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.