Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Rise of the Runelords – Base Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dying rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Raúl Lopezosa
Spain
Almendralejo
Badajoz
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Exactily, When does a character die?

In 'dying' section of the rulebook said 'when you have to remove a card from you playing deck'.

So, when you draw cards to fill your hand, is not remove, isn't?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emmanouil Karakostas
Greece
Thessaloniki
Thessaloniki
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A character dies when you are required to draw a card from your character deck, and you cannot.

This is possibly done when you reset your hand at the end of your turn, or at any other circumstance, that you must draw a card from your deck, and you cannot.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wolfram Troeder
Germany
Bruchkoebel
Hessen
flag msg tools
Boardgaming is not a matter of life or death...
badge
...it's much more important than that!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Could you provide verse and chapter to that quote?

AFAICR: "If you have to draw a card and your draw deck is empty, you are dead."

ninja'ed
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules for dying are conveniently placed in their own chapter, called "DYING" on page 13,
and they read:
Quote:
If you are ever required to draw a card from your deck and cannot, your character dies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wolfram Troeder
Germany
Bruchkoebel
Hessen
flag msg tools
Boardgaming is not a matter of life or death...
badge
...it's much more important than that!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perhaps a less than optimal translation to Spanish?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Malcolm Howell
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
csibadajoz wrote:
Exactily, When does a character die?

In 'dying' section of the rulebook said 'when you have to remove a card from you playing deck'.

So, when you draw cards to fill your hand, is not remove, isn't?

In the original rules, your character died if you had to draw cards and there weren't enough in your deck. However, there are other times you take cards out of your deck (e.g. you're told to discard or bury the top card) so it was clarified that any time you have to remove more cards from your deck than there are, you die. See this FAQ entry.

There are no powers that will tell you to "remove" cards from your deck. "Remove" covers drawing, burying, discarding, and probably some other things I haven't thought of.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nefrubyr wrote:
csibadajoz wrote:
Exactily, When does a character die?

In 'dying' section of the rulebook said 'when you have to remove a card from you playing deck'.

So, when you draw cards to fill your hand, is not remove, isn't?

In the original rules, your character died if you had to draw cards and there weren't enough in your deck. However, there are other times you take cards out of your deck (e.g. you're told to discard or bury the top card) so it was clarified that any time you have to remove more cards from your deck than there are, you die. See this FAQ entry.

There are no powers that will tell you to "remove" cards from your deck. "Remove" covers drawing, burying, discarding, and probably some other things I haven't thought of.


Exactly. Remove means "get a card from your deck." Draw, in this game, means take a card from your deck and add it tio your hand. So the faq clarifies that even if you are being obstructed y to bury or discard a card from your deck, you will die if you don't have enough cards.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raúl Lopezosa
Spain
Almendralejo
Badajoz
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great Dane wrote:
It is good to have FAQ's for people who cannot understand the rules as written, but the original rules says exactly:

Quote:
If you are ever required to draw a card from your deck and cannot, your character dies.


The rulebook I read yesterday was writen in that sentence 'remove', not 'draw'.

But now I have this clear, don't worry. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D P
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Great Dane wrote:
It is good to have FAQ's for people who cannot understand the rules as written, but the original rules says exactly:

Quote:
If you are ever required to draw a card from your deck and cannot, your character dies.
That's why it was errata'd. It's not JUST drawing that makes you die. Any time the player has to remove a card from the character deck, regardless of the reason and where the card is going, and cannot, the character dies.

The new version of the English Rules (V3) and any translations based on those rules will be as follows:
Rules V3 wrote:
Dying
If, for any reason, you are ever required to remove one or more cards
from your deck and you don’t have enough cards, your character
dies.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Wilson
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Heres a related question. The rule book mentions there are a few effects that could bring a character back during a scenario from death... What are these?

Can cure by replenishing a deck bring someone back? Much like stabilizing them? In the main game?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ryanshowseason2 wrote:
Heres a related question. The rule book mentions there are a few effects that could bring a character back during a scenario from death... What are these?

Can cure by replenishing a deck bring someone back? Much like stabilizing them? In the main game?


No. Cure gets cards out of your discard pile. But when you die, you bury all your cards, so there are no cards in your discard pile. There is a spell in deck 5 called Raise Dead that can bring a character back from death. I don't think anything else in RotR can do so.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ryanshowseason2 wrote:
Heres a related question. The rule book mentions there are a few effects that could bring a character back during a scenario from death... What are these?


Raise Dead - a spell from adventure 5 springs to mind.
We didn't take it, as we seldom are in danger of dying anyway.
And should the final adventure turn out to be surprisingly difficult, we just have to accept the fate - our minds are already focused towards plundering the 7 Seas anyway...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.