Summer grasses / All that remains / Of soldiers' dreams. - Basho.
If the first player fails a rout check with a unit in Melee, the first player unit is eliminated (unless a second friendly is still in melee), does that mean that the enemy unit that it was in Melee with prior to elimination no longer has to make a rout check (assuming the only reason for it to take one originally was the melee)?
I am really asking if rout is simultaneous like melee and I believe it is not. I think the enemy unit is not required to make a rout check. Am I right?
As an addendum to what has already been said, this was clarified in the Ghost Panzer rules. (I had posed the exact same question when playing Screaming Eagles and Jim addressed it in the BoB:GP rules)