Hide
21 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Recommendations

Subject: New to boardgames rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter O
msg tools
Hey guys, I'm new to boardgames and I'm trying to decide what would be a good sci-fi type boardgame to get. I'm currently thinking of buying Android :Netrunner and maybe one or two of its addon packs, but I'm open to other ideas, would really appreciate some suggestions, thanks for yer help!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonard Moses II
United States
Hixson
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Most people that like the theme of Android are going to prefer it probably to Race for the Galaxy. I think you are on the right track.

I do not play a lot of scifi or space themed games. But I do own and want to try Core Worlds and it's expansion Core Worlds: Galactic Orders which I think might have some light deck building elements.

Among the Stars is a 7 wonders drafting kind of thing as far as I have heard. It seems terribly expensive but people say it is fun.

Alien Frontiers seems high too but you might be into the dice placement kind of thing. I feel that I have enough and likely better games that have this mechanic (that I am only slightly fond of usually).

I have heard of Mission: Red Planet, Eclipse, Exodus: Proxima Centauri, and Empires of the Void.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Rayburn
United States
Gulfport
Mississippi
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't played A:N, but here are a few things you could look at.

Battle Beyond Space. This one is cool. You get around 20 ships, there are asteroids to avoid and victory point 'satellites' to collect, various different powers for the four races, and more.

Earth Reborn. Moving soldiers around on a map shooting each other. This one takes a bit longer to set up and play, but is really fun.