Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Bonaparte at Marengo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Manuever attack from Reserve or Approach or Both? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Question:

If I have units in an approach and in reserve, and I wish to do a maneuver attack, can both units from the approach and reserve combine to do the MA or do only one or the other (and can one or the other) do the MA?

Thanks,
Mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Eager
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
DBA Junkie
badge
"A Book should serve as the Ax for the frozen sea within us."-- KAFKA
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
goo Nope, it's one unit(or group of units) or the other. You'll generally want to MA with the unit in the approach, since an MA from an approach cannot be blocked. goo
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK. Makes sense since they'd be different groups.

Thanks.
Mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff K
United States
Garner
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Malacandra wrote:
OK. Makes sense since they'd be different groups.

Thanks.
Mark


Yes, this is true of every aspect: move, attack and retreat. Units in a different location within a locale always must do these actions separately (and incur whatever penalty separately, be that damage or command cost).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rachel Simmons
United States
Los Altos
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Malacandra wrote:
If I have units in an approach and in reserve, and I wish to do a maneuver attack, can both units from the approach and reserve combine to do the MA or do only one or the other (and can one or the other) do the MA?


You can only do one or the other. In order for units to maneuver attack together, units must be able to move together (a maneuver attack is a move), and in order for them to move together, they must be able to move as a group, which requires them to start and end their move together (together blocking the same approach, or together in reserve in the same locale). A unit in reserve and a unit blocking an approach are not eligible to form a group together for this reason.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Follow Up Movement question
Supposing the opponent moves his unit out on his turn, before you can MA.

Since your unit on the approach can no longer be there, he can fall back to reserve for free. (Or move into the locale for a cp). If he goes back to reserve, can the whole group then move into the locale using just one cp?

Seems the answer is "yes" since the unit on the approach is now part of the group (though he became part of that group for no cp cost).

Thanks,
Mark
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff K
United States
Garner
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Malacandra wrote:
Supposing the opponent moves his unit out on his turn, before you can MA.

Since your unit on the approach can no longer be there, he can fall back to reserve for free. (Or move into the locale for a cp). If he goes back to reserve, can the whole group then move into the locale using just one cp?

Seems the answer is "yes" since the unit on the approach is now part of the group (though he became part of that group for no cp cost).

Thanks,
Mark


No. That unit cannot quit the approach until its turn, so it starts the turn blocking the approach. He must begin his turn in reserve to move with the rest of those units. Quitting the approach is the entire move for that piece.

Think about it as the units in reserve must spend their whole turn forming up for the move, while the unit which begins its turn in the approach must spend its move reforming and "standing down" into a movement formation (into reserve).

One thing which is abstracted out of BaM, but which was very much a part of linear warfare, was how long it took your troops to change their various formations. It took lots of time to form from a movement formation into a battle line for attack, esp. under fire.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Makes sense! Thanks for that.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.