Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Axis & Allies 1941» Forums » Rules

Subject: Contradictory rules for ignoring submarines during amphibious rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tod Hostetler
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
Question for some Axis and Allies supergeek out there:

Transport is performing an amphibious assault. Transport is accompanied by a surface warship (example Battleship). The sea zone from which the amphibious assault is to be conducted is guarded by submarines. Sea combat commences. The Battleship dies, the submarines survive, the transport survives.

The question is whether or not the Transport may now offload its troops into combat on the land territory.

RULES IN SUPPORT: Page 14 states "If there are only defending submarines and/or transports you can choose to ignore those units" And because: Page 13 says "...a transport cannot ignore enemy submarines... unless at least one warship belonging to the attacking power is also present in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase". (In my example there was my Battleship in the sea zone at the end of the Combat Move phase, even though it didn't survive the Sea Combat).

RULES IN OPPOSITION: back to Page 14 we also have "Land combat can take place only if there was no sea battle or the sea zone has been cleared of all defending enemy units (except transports and SUBMERGED submarines).

Aha? The last reference is the only one that specifies that only SUBMERGED submarines can be ignored.

So which is it? Thanks in advance!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The quoted rule on page 14 refers to combat movement. If there are only defending subs and/or transports, they may be ignored during combat movement. The rule on page 13 makes an exception for this, in that a transport making an amphibious assault may not ignore enemy subs unless escorted by a warship. However, this has nothing to do with combat; once enemy units are actually engaged in combat, they can never be ignored.

In your example, since the sea zone contained only enemy subs and there was an escorting battleship, the attacker could have chosen to either fight a sea battle before offloading the troops or ignore the defending subs completely and just offload. If the subs are attacked, they cannot be ignored anymore unless they choose to submerge, and the attacker must destroy all those that don't submerge before offloading.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.