so Germany got a lucky roll on the DOW alliance reaction table and Hungary joined as Interventionist.
16.3 • By Alliance Reaction (16.5): These
nations are called Interventionists.
Their forces are restricted (16.311) to
home territory and adjacent nations.
Now Hungary is NOT a Satellite, and never demoralised.
MY question is about 'Adjacent Nations'.
Besides all the nations it is adjacent to, West and East Poland are included. But in game terms Poland no longer exists and is Greater Russia.
20.51 Territory. The USSR as of 1939 is
called Mother Russia. Greater Russia
includes all its annexable Molotov Pact
So, can the Hungarian Interventionist enter 'Mother Russia'?
Or are they restricted to the old Polish National boundaries?
Notice that after Hungary annexes Transylvania, and Soviet takes Bessarabia, Hungary is adjacent to the USSR. That would seem to release all three Hungary army units to go anywhere in USSR (also Rumania, later). Kind of a Euro-Pass?
As written, I would interpret "adjacent nations" in "16.3/By Alliance Reaction" to be defined as "according to current boundaries" (which may change over time from the effects of DEs and Annexations).
It should IMO to apply to defeated (but not annexed) nations. Otherwise the rule would have some pretty nonsensical applications.
By that definition, Interventionist Hungarian units could enter all parts of Germany and USSR after the annexation of Poland, and Yugo/Rumania (even after their defeats).
[If Annexation effects are NOT included, they could still enter the USSR after Transylvania changes hands, and Poland/Czech/Austria. But since Annexation is defined as transfer of one area to another nation, the first definition makes more sense to me.]