Imp Rovius
United States
Fairport
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Is there errata for Disintegrate? Because as it's written it looks like it can be used to destroy barriers that other characters encounter. Am I missing something, or is it really that powerful?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Enden
United States
Kalamazoo
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are missing something. No character can defeat a barrier for another character. For an explanation, look here:

http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1gk#v5748eaic9rb6
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Imp Rovius
United States
Fairport
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
If a card says it works on “a check,” you can play it on anyone’s check, but if a card says “your check,” it only works on yours."

By that logic, I would think Disintegrate should work on anyone's barrier ("a barrier"). Is it supposed to be "a barrier you encounter?"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
http://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2007/03/28
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As Lars said (and linked to); noone can defeat a bane for you. There are many cards that do not say explicitly say "your" check (Thieves' Tools, Caltrops, etc.) but "No One Else Can Take Your Turn for You" means those cards have an implied "your".

Paizo FAQ wrote:
No One Else Can Take Your Turn for You. Whenever you encounter a card or make a check, you—and only you—must resolve it. No other character can evade it, defeat it, acquire it, close it, decide what to do with it, or fail at doing any of those things. If Sajan encounters a monster, Merisiel can’t evade it for him. If Kyra encounters a Ghoul, Seoni can’t attempt the check to defeat it. If Amiri encounters a Battered Chest, Lini cannot use Thieves’ Tools against it. If Valeros encounters a Spyglass, Harsk can’t attempt the check to acquire it. If Ezren defeats a henchman at the Sandpoint Cathedral, Seelah can’t discard a blessing to close the location. If the game tells you to do something, you have to do it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
cbrua wrote:
As Lars said (and linked to); noone can defeat a bane for you. There are many cards that do not say explicitly say "your" check (Thieves' Tools, Caltrops, etc.) but "No One Else Can Take Your Turn for You" means those cards have an implied "your".

Paizo FAQ wrote:
No One Else Can Take Your Turn for You. Whenever you encounter a card or make a check, you—and only you—must resolve it. No other character can evade it, defeat it, acquire it, close it, decide what to do with it, or fail at doing any of those things. If Sajan encounters a monster, Merisiel can’t evade it for him. If Kyra encounters a Ghoul, Seoni can’t attempt the check to defeat it. If Amiri encounters a Battered Chest, Lini cannot use Thieves’ Tools against it. If Valeros encounters a Spyglass, Harsk can’t attempt the check to acquire it. If Ezren defeats a henchman at the Sandpoint Cathedral, Seelah can’t discard a blessing to close the location. If the game tells you to do something, you have to do it.


Any card that resolves an encounter outright, either by evasion or succeeding at a check without requiring a roll, should say "your" instead of "a".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.