Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Ancient Terrible Things» Forums » Rules

Subject: Contingency Plan and a Swag Card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Johnson
Canada
St.John's
Newfoundland
flag msg tools
designer
“Brothers, oh brothers, my days here are done, the Dornishman’s taken my life, But what does it matter, for all men must die, and I’ve tasted the Dornishman’s wife!”
badge
"Oak and iron guard me well, or else I'm dead and doomed to hell." - Andal proverb.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If this card is played before the encounter phase, can you save dice affecting cards for when you do your encounter or are they played immediately and discarded without effect? ie, is the card ideally used when you've rolled or before doing rolls?

The swag card that allows you to activate adjacent locations... if you're in the top left location, does it allow you to use the top-right location and left-middle location? If you're in the left-middle location, can you use the left-top and bottom locations and right-middle? basically, does ajacent allow you to use locations across the river or no?

Thanks in advance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob van Zyl
South Africa
Cape Town
Western Cape
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Eeeville wrote:
If this card is played before the encounter phase, can you save dice affecting cards for when you do your encounter or are they played immediately and discarded without effect? ie, is the card ideally used when you've rolled or before doing rolls?


No, they cannot be saved. The card effects take place immediately and are then discarded.
When you decide to play Contingency Plan would depend on your turn strategy. If you are trying to secure an additional Courage token or two to perform a Desperate Act, then it could make sense to play before rolling.
Generally though, Feat cards are best utilised after all re-rolls have been exhausted.

Eeeville wrote:


The swag card that allows you to activate adjacent locations... if you're in the top left location, does it allow you to use the top-right location and left-middle location? If you're in the left-middle location, can you use the left-top and bottom locations and right-middle? basically, does ajacent allow you to use locations across the river or no?


You may use the directly adjacent locations only. The Locations across the river are not considered adjacent.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Davis
United States
Sewickley
PA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, I think I may have misunderstood what adjacent means in the games I've played. I thought that 2 would be adjacent to 1 & 3. We had to rule that 1 was adjacent to 6 & 2, and 6 was adjacent to 5 & 1, but now it seems we got that wrong. What are the numbers of the locations used for then? Just the order that you place new encounters? And what exactly does "adjacent" mean for this game? 1 is only adjacent to 3, and 3 is adjacent to only 1 and 5?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
-=::) Dante (::=-
United States
KEW GARDENS
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ruskicowboy wrote:
And what exactly does "adjacent" mean for this game? 1 is only adjacent to 3, and 3 is adjacent to only 1 and 5?


No different in the game than it's dictionary definition:

Quote:
ad·ja·cent
əˈjās(ə)nt/
adjective
1.
next to or adjoining something else.

2.
GEOMETRY
(of angles) having a common vertex and a common side.


Ruskicowboy wrote:
1 is only adjacent to 3, and 3 is adjacent to only 1 and 5?


Yes as confirmed by the designer above stating that locations separated by the river are not adjacent. This is also visually demonstrated on the swag card itself. Note that the image only has arrows pointing up and down from the icon location, not right and left.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.