Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Karelia '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: Trying to make sense of the overrun example rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tuomo Syvänperä
Finland
Nahkela
Other (Non U.S.)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the SCS rulebook (v1.8) there's an example of overrun attack on page 4. I can't seem to be able to grok the last sentence of that example. It says:

Quote:
If unit 8 waits until after units 5 and 6 have left hex 11.06, it could overrun unit 14 from there for a total cost of 4 MPs.


Now I can't seem to make the MP cost add up. It costs 1 MP to move to 10.06, then another 3 MP to move to 11.06 (1 for clear terrain + 2 for EZOC) and then 2 MPs to make the overrun. So that adds up to 5 MPs, not 4... What am I missing?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Drake
United States
Springfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
I like pizza!
badge
I LIKE IT!!! ????
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
the unit in 11.05 does not exert e.z.o.c. because it does not have an attack strength. If units 5 and 6 were not there then unit 8 would use one mp to move to 10.06, one mp to move to 11.06 and then 2 mp's to execute the overrun.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tuomo Syvänperä
Finland
Nahkela
Other (Non U.S.)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah,of course. I knew I missed something. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Davidson

Livonia
Michigan
msg tools
Kirk "The Man" Douglas (Vikings)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dude, your supposed to be reading the rules for "The Dark Valley"whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tuomo Syvänperä
Finland
Nahkela
Other (Non U.S.)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
zhodanicommando wrote:
Dude, your supposed to be reading the rules for "The Dark Valley"whistle


Admit it, you're stalking me And besides, you're supposed to be sending me your first move!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.