Hannibal: Rome vs. Carthage» Forums » Variants

Subject: Historical ideas rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
José Herrera
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been playing this great game for about 8 months now, and recently tried Charles' variant and enjoyed it a lot. The game has got me reading more about the history of the Punic wars, and often I've caught myself thinking how I would implement a certain historical fact or event I've just read about into the game. Not that the game is not accurate enough, as far as the level of abstraction allows, but I though I'd share my ideas and see how they could be implemented into the game, if it's worth it:

-Massilia: This city was an ally of Rome, as the game already shows, but already at the outset of the war had important commercial ties with its colony Emporion. In game terms, this could mean that there would be a Roman PC on Emporion from the start, which would (historically) encourage an early Roman invasion of Spain starting there. Also, an additional rule could be added to the siege conditions on Massilia: if Massilia is taken by Carthage, the Roman PCs on Emporion and Nice are removed.

-Carthage could have some sort of benefit for holding the province of Massilia, maybe allowing one of the Spanish reinforcements to be allocated into Italy if they hold this province. This intends to represent that Hannibal left behind garrisons in Gallia to secure his supplies, which meant his massive Spanish army had dwindled in numbers by the time he reached the Po valley.