Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: What rules are missed/overlooked? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob Roth
United States
cleveland
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Five of us are starting our first campaign tonight (Shadow of Nerekhall) and I'll be running the OL. I've read the rules and FAQ but wondering if there are rules that are easily missed/overlooked when first starting out? LOS does seem a little confusing but we'll try to work it through while we play.

Thanks for any input...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Expect to get a whole lot of rules wrong on your first playthrough.

Some that stand out:

- Monsters can only attack once each turn. Not twice like heroes.
- Forgetting to draw an overlord card when you knock down a hero.
- Thinking "stunned" costs both actions of a hero, while it only costs him 1.
- Forgetting you can spend a surge to regain 1 stamina.
- You can use a search card (i.e. a potion) and still sell it for money after the quest.
- Damage (health) is retained between encounters, fatigue is replenished.
- Overlord keeps his hand of overlord cards between encounters.
- Remember to check the range rolled when making ranged attacks.
- ...

Furthermore, make sure you:

- read, reread and keep nearby for reference the rules about LOS and big monster movement.
- print out the FAQ and keep nearby.
- Remind your players this is a dungeon race, not a dungeon crawl.


And probably way, way more.

Have fun!
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dirk Meijer
Netherlands
The Hague
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I suggest getting all players to read through the rules and FAQ, if not before the campaign, then after the first quest.
One player might pickup what another overlooked.

Things we got wrong:
* Reanimate only gets 1 attack per activation
* Heroic Feat is once per Encounter, not once per Quest
* Check carefully which cards are exhausted on use and which aren't.
* Large monster movement is rather funky, especially with entering special spaces (hazard/water/pit spaces and adjacency to heroes, for example), interrupting movement and such. Read those section carefully.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M M
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can't inflict a condition if you don't do any damage
If a lieutenant has a relic and gets defeated they lose use of relic for that quest
If a lieutenant gets knocked down and stands up, they still get another action
Monsters are limited to one attack unless specified otherwise on their card. Any action that contains the word attack is an attack.
If a spot is covered (search token/regen point) you can use an adjacent tile.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mat628 wrote:
If a lieutenant has a relic and gets defeated they lose use of relic for that quest
If a lieutenant gets knocked down and stands up, they still get another action.


I'm sure you mean "agents" with this and not "lieutenants". If I'm not mistaken, agents are the figures that you can summon with a lieutenant pack. Lieutenants are those figures when they appear in a quest without the lieutenant pack.


Edit: I stand corrected then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Burigo
Italy
Belluno
flag msg tools
designer
badge
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Vardaine wrote:
Mat628 wrote:
If a lieutenant has a relic and gets defeated they lose use of relic for that quest
If a lieutenant gets knocked down and stands up, they still get another action.


I'm sure you mean "agents" with this and not "lieutenants". If I'm not mistaken, agents are the figures that you can summon with a lieutenant pack. Lieutenants are those figures when they appear in a quest without the lieutenant pack.


I think he means lieutenants.

Agents can't wield relics.
If an agent is defeated, he is out of the encounter and of the campaign until the corresponding "Summon" plot card is acquired again by the Overlord.
Some quests allow the key lieutenant to stand up as a hero using an action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johannes Benedikt
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mat628 wrote:

If a lieutenant gets knocked down and stands up, they still get another action


This seems rather strange to me. Is there any official source for this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.