Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Terra Mystica» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does a bridge block shipping? (Ex. +2 shipping cut off by a bridge) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J C
msg tools
We played a game the other night and came across this question, but I couldn't find an answer in the rule book.

If you build a bridge in a river and someone else has +2 shipping that would need to go "under" the bridge, does the bridge block them?

We ended up ruling that the bridge does not block shipping only because the rule book doesn't explicitly say that it does. It didn't end up mattering anyway since the player decided to not go for shipping.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bridges do not cut off water routes.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Axel
Germany
Görlitz
Sachsen
flag msg tools
Do not click on it!
badge
I play with red!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say not because it is a bridge and not a barrage dam.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Case
England
Epsom
Surrey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
https://www.facebook.com/amuse.ment.92
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ar147 wrote:
I would say not because it is a bridge and not a barrage.


Dam.....(n)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rhett Morgan
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Without a doubt not. Bridges only affect adjacency and have no impact on shipping whatsoever.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C
msg tools
ar147 wrote:
I would say not because it is a bridge and not a barrage.


I think you mean barricade? While I agree with all these reasons, we had also argued that there are plenty of bridges that boats can't pass under. Think of a small footbridge in New York Central park.

In the end, we ruled that it doesn't block shipping like you all mentioned.

Thanks for the input!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.