Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

A Study in Emerald» Forums » General

Subject: Is the Shoggoth too powerful? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
LC
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Well, that's, like, your opinion, man
Avatar
mbmbmb
This came up last game I played. Everyone had a hard time believing that the Shoggoth was not a one use deal, and that it could just strike anywhere on the board, whether its "owner" had an agent there or not.

Thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hardboiled Gregg
United Kingdom
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, but it is a 'one use deal'. It says so on the card itself: One use action.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
LC
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Well, that's, like, your opinion, man
Avatar
mbmbmb
HA! I asked the guy who had the card if it said that, and he said no. I just assumed he was right.

Clearly he was roleplaying his Loyalist faction a tad much!
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hardboiled Gregg
United Kingdom
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Haha, yep, definitely playing with a cheater. Sounds like you'll have to consult the rulebook in future situations (and the cards after the game is over).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
LC
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Well, that's, like, your opinion, man
Avatar
mbmbmb
I'm sure it was actually an honest mistake. But I prefer to believe it was villainy.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hardboiled Gregg
United Kingdom
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shoggoth's Razor:

"Never attribute to... stupidity that which is adequately explained by villainy."
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Poor
United States
Dexter
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you not have everyone play their cards face up where they can be seen? Even among trusted friends playing a friendly game, mistakes are made. Don't play poker with these people.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
LC
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Well, that's, like, your opinion, man
Avatar
mbmbmb
He made an honest mistake, and we all just missed the one play only thing. Absolutely not a case of skulduggery.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.