Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about 'Sacrificing' a character rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lars Panzerbjørn
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I was playing my Silver twilight Lodge deck, and I wanted to put some tokens on Ritual of the Lance (http://tinyurl.com/m2f89zx).

Quote:
Ritual.
Response: After you sacrifice a character, place a success token on Ritual of the Lance.
Action: Sacrifice Ritual of the Lance and discard 5 success tokens from it to destroy all characters.
Set: TOotST


My friend and I couldn't find anything that specifies what Sacrificing means.

Can I just say I sacrifice a character and dump it in my discard pile?

Can it only be done by way of a card that specifically requires a sacrifice to activate it?

And if so, does the Ritual of the Lance not in a way fall under that category?

Thoughts, comments & opinions are most welcome...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Boeren
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are cards that cause you to sacrifice a character, this could be as a cost to pay for some effect or more often something your opponent does to you. You cannot just sacrifice a character when you feel like it, there has to be a card involved that says that you can/must sacrifice one.

Ritual of the Lance does not give you this ability either, it just provides a way for you to get a benefit when another card makes it happen. Overall, not usually that useful a card as sacrifices don't reliably happen enough for it to pay off unless you somehow built your deck around sacrificing your own guys.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Panzerbjørn
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Ahh, ok, thanks. I can see that where I went wrong, was in looking at 'Response' and thinking of it as an action...

I have corrected my deck now to include sacrifice cards...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.