United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been working in game development (video games) for almost 15 years. On a number of projects I also handled community and social outreach.

Over the last month or two I've dove headfirst into the board game community as I've tried to connect locally and at great distances.

I am absolutely blown away at how special the BGG/BG Community is. There is a willingness to share, support, and guide that I've never seen before. This is a considerable sized group to have such an incredible willings to help each other.

Anyone have some opinions on why this is? Is it the nature of the audience? Is it the nature of a cross section of people who are smart, tech savvy, and yet down to earth because they like board games?

Never seen anything quite like it so it is fascinating me.

Cheers, and thanks!
~E
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David
Canada
Prince George
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Wise men say, forgiveness is divine, but never pay full price for late pizza.
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't know what makes it great...it just is. Boardgaming just seems to attract amazing people.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarek Szczepanik
Norway
Oslo
Oslo
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
dblayton wrote:
I don't know what makes it great...it just is. Boardgaming just seems to attract amazing people.

Especially here. I check out one of the Polish board game forum from time to time. People are helpful there, but I don't feel so good as on BGG. Here I am every single day!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eduardo Baraf
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Crazy, right?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Iä! Iä! Cthulhu fhtagn!
mbmbmbmbmb