Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Dungeon Fighter» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Defeated twice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Veli Hemming
msg tools
Rules state that once you have used your main three dice you can
A: use white die
B: turn the leader token to defeat side and take the 3 dice back to use

At least in the core game it doesn't say anything what happens if you have already turned the leader token once. I just played my first games yesterday and we played it so that the team is defeated when we roll 6 colored dice but you can read rules also so that you can be defeated multiple times and you just take more dmg.

What is the "right" interpretation of the rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
.308 Jake
Canada
Hamilton
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 7 of the rule book

"If all three hero dice have been used but the monster is
still alive, the next hero in clockwise order takes his turn
choosing one of the following options:
A) He takes a white die from the chest token and uses it
to attack.
or
B) ALL heroes take damage according to the monster‘s
damage value to free up the three hero dice again. The
active player chooses a die and starts his attack. The
leader token is then flipped over to its defeated side.
Regardless of his choice (A or B), the next player in
clockwise order takes his turn after him. If the hero dice
are again used up
, the next hero in clockwise order again
has to choose option A or B and so on until the monster is
defeated."

So you just keep taking damage until the monster's dead or you all are knocked out from too much damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Cook
United States
Denton
Texas
flag msg tools
*beep*
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
We always play where you can be defeated multiple times. So every time you run out of dice, everyone takes the monster's level in damage and then you get the 3 dice back. The damage gets pretty punishing so it's rare to survive too many rounds of defeats.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Silva Lorenzo
Italy
Milano
Italy
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can be defeated multiple times. The act to turn the Leader token is just to remember that you don't have to take bonus white dice if you defeat the monster and you still have the hero dice (because you already used all three hero dice and you recovered them)

I know, it's very confusing...

We will change a little bit this rule in the next printrun. there will be no more the "defeated side" on the leader token, and the rule for the bonus white dice if you save hero dice will be as follow:

"If the party managed to defeat the monster with one single shot, they receive two bonus die from the supply. If they did it with two shots, they receive one bonus die from the supply. If they defeated the monster with three or more shots, they receive no bonus dice."

Soon you will find the new version of the rulebook on Horrible Games website.


3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.