Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Impulse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Command a fleet of 1 ship rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marc Maier
United States
Darien
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought I had this particular action clear, but a recently posted playthrough video raised the question.

We have been playing that the command cards which say Command a 1 transport/cruiser fleet for one move mean you must command a fleet of exactly 1 ship, i.e., you cannot move just a single ship out of an existing two-ship fleet. It must be a group of exactly 1 ship (unless the number is boosted, of course).

Is this correct, or can you split a multi-ship fleet by moving just one ship with this action?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Gerrits
Belgium
Leuven
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can split (at the start of a move, not during a move)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian K
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Taking just some of the ships from a fleet is fine.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Maier
United States
Darien
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So then a "fleet" in the context of this particular command card refers only to the group created by the move, not the group which exists on the map prior to the move?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Cieslik
United States
Arlington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Banana!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. It means that the group that you move stays intact during movement.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty Sample
United States
MILFORD
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can ships of different types move together as a group?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Tompkins
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
Never go in against a Sicilian when DEATH is on the line!
badge
You know what would be funny...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Marty S wrote:
Can ships of different types move together as a group?


No - cruisers and transports make up two different fleets. In fact, they can't even "be" at the same location, as cruisers occupy gates and transports occupy planets.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.